Homestead Life; Scouting for Firewood

in #homesteading5 years ago (edited)


Today I strapped on my snowshoes and headed into the forest to search for fallen trees. We need to harvest firewood soon.


There's an old saying about firewood that goes: wood warms you three times; when you cut it when you split it, and when you burn it.


I'd say that from experience it warms you many more times than this because there's also the lifting and loading and moving and stacking and so forth. We try to stock up on enough firewood before winter arrives so that we can avoid the challenge of doing it in deep snow but this has been a long, cold winter and our supply is getting a bit low for our comfort.

Fortunately for me, this journey was solely a scouting mission. I always enjoy spending time in the forest and embarked on this little adventure with enthusiasm. I brought my camera so I could share some of the sights with you, and a gathering bag because I always regret not having one when I leave it behind.

Homestead Life; Scouting for Firewood

My gathering bag. I brought home pine needles for tea and aromatherapy decor.

Foraging and wildcrafting is a big part of our homestead lifestyle.

The winter forest is slumbering, nestled in pristine silence, and will be for some time yet.


My movements sounded brash like a buffalo trespassing in fairyland. I always feel guilty, imagining all of the slumbering creatures that my clumsy steps might be disturbing.


With such a stark silence, the smallest sounds are amplified. The crackling of frozen twigs and leaves as a gust of wind rushes past sounds like an orchestra. When the sunshine peeks through the trees, it warms the skin so nicely.

Homestead Life; Scouting for Firewood

I wonder if the snow loves the trees and fields, that it kisses them so gently? And then it covers them up snug, you know, with a white quilt; and perhaps it says, "Go to sleep, darlings, till the summer comes again. ~ Lewis Carroll, Alice's Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass
I did hear a squirrel family chatter anxiously; I think they were sending a warning telegraph far and wide warning others that Mischa Queen of the forest was on the prowl. She is stealthy and silent in her movements (unlike me). Her nose twitches and her ears follow suit as she gets ready to leap into action and guard "her" woods.

Homestead Life; Scouting for Firewood


Mischa Moon Howler - Queen of the Forest


It is tough going in spots, and even with snowshoes, one foot sinks down into the snow and before I know it one leg is sunken down in snow past my knee. The other foot is still high up on the surface. This makes for a seriously ungraceful moment as I try and wrestle my foot, snowshoe, and leg out of the hole without causing my other foot to sink in. I end up grabbing onto a skinny tree within reach to help me pull myself up. This tree snaps off becoming a walking stick that now rests at the doorway.

Molly kept walking behind me stepping on my snowshoes and tripping me up. She is a funny character.

Homestead Life; Scouting for Firewood


This photo was taken on our driveway to the house. Just look at Molly's face - priceless!

I found plenty of fallen wood.


There are trees wholly uprooted, some are snapped, and others are precariously hanging held up by other trees, ready to fall at any moment.


We have had a lot of big storms lately, and it has been hard on the trees. There's plenty of firewood.
When I made my way out of the forest, I end up popping out near the chicken coop. One of the chickens was out roaming and enjoying the sunny day. We only have TWO chickens left (we'll be getting more in the spring), and they are both pretty long in the tooth. It is nice to see them enjoying some fresh air; winter has been quite hard on them this year.


Homestead Life; Scouting for Firewood

One of the hens hanging out in pasture enjoying some sunshine.

As I walked back to the house, my husband hollered to me from the balcony that I looked like a wizard and to wait because he wanted to take my photo. I smiled and felt warm inside. The forest walk was uplifting and I felt a bit wizard like with my staff and bag of plants. In my book there is nothing better than being warmly greeted when you arrive home. This was the perfect way to wrap up my adventure!

Posted with love from my blog walkerland.ca with SteemPress : https://www.walkerland.ca/homestead-life-scouting-for-firewood/
Sort:  

Hi @walkerland. This post had been selected for the Homesteaders - Living Naturally newsletter.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ahhh! What a fun and fruitful adventure 💗 i bet you feel awesome after all that. Molly the chocolate eater LOL i love that your blog was out doors tonight! Catch you next time ☀️🌄🎶

My muscles sure feel it today! I am so glad to be sharing a bit of outdoors, I am feeling the effects of being inside too much.

Oh I love everything about this. I love this story you tell and I love the look on Molly's face and I love that bloody chicken in the snow ..... how gorgeous.....

oh what a treat- thank you! Such gorgeous music to start my day with, and perfect for this story. Thank you.

What a lovely venture into the woods! Love the doggie photos. They sure were happy!

We've had a high windstorm here, but none of our trees lost more than a few small branches. Next door has been moving downed trees all week though...

Seems like next door was catching some of the wind for you. The dogs really do enjoy having us outside with them, especially Molly who sticks to my side (and steps on my snowshoes tripping me up).

Sounds like a wonderful day. 💜 Do you normally cure the firewood for a while? Or it depends on the type of wood?

It sure was! :) We have an outdoor wood furnace and a small indoor fireplace. For the outdoor fire, we can burn it as is - we've actually found that some wet wood can be good as it burns slower. For the indoor fire, the wood needs to be nice and dry.

Cutting and hauling wood in that deep snow will warm you up I am sure.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congratulations @walkerland! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 2000

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

You've been visited by @thistle-rock from Homesteaders Co-op.

I loved your analogies in this post! I certainly understand your searching for firewood mid-winter, it has been a long cold one and we are down to our last row and a half too... hopefully not winter for too much longer.

I bet the chickens will be happy to see the last of the snow too!


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

wow, this looks so peaceful! It's looks a bit like peeking into a dream of mine - I have always doubted where to live, since I don't like the winter much, but then I imagine silent snowy days in the wood and it all falls into place :) I imagine one day having a warm cabin and spending most of the winter days collecting wood and sitting in front of the fire doing arts and crafts.. Then I could definitely live in the colder areas :) The problem is that Denmark is not that cold, and this winter we had almost no snow. It always lurks just around zero, so the snow that falls always melts and everything is just wet and moist... not my favorite winter, but well.. at least it's been mild and we are enjoying an early spring this year!

Early spring is something to celebrate! Congratulations on finding somewhere to plant your roots. I am inspired by your plans to create an eco-community in Denmark. I love the first week of winter when the world becomes blanketed with snow, much like you imagine ... but the novelty wears off and winter becomes far too long when we get to March. Can't wait for spring! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63094.38
ETH 3148.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88