Homesteading Contest: Skills Edition

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

chickens_steemit(2).jpg

Pound for pound I believe homesteaders are some of the most capable people around. We need to share this knowledge with one another. Our efforts will help the entire homesteading community to grow stronger. By sharing the best of what we know, we empower ourselves and future generations.

This contest is about sharing a specific skill, and providing well written instruction on how it is done. The types of homesteading skills you can choose write about are limitless but here are some ideas to get your creative wheels turning:

Canning, dehydrating, preserving, cheese making, curing, smoking, fermenting, animal husbandry (milking, kidding, raising, butchering and so on) weaving, sewing, crochet & textiles, carpentry, wild crafting, bush skills, gardening.

The rules

  • One entry per person
  • The post must describe a specific skill, provide well written instruction and may also include photographs, drawings or video as part of the tutorial.
  • Use the tag: #homesteadskills
  • Upvote this post to increase the rewards to the winners
  • Resteem if possible
  • Leave a link to your post in the comments below
  • Must be a new post
  • The content must be original and not be published anywhere else
  • You will have until this post pays out to get in your entries

The Prizes

First Place

5 SBD from @walkerland Plus: 50% of the liquid SBD generated from this post

Second Place

3 SBD from @walkerland Plus: 25% of the liquid SBD generated from this post

Third Place

1.5 SBD from @walkerland Plus: 10% of the liquid SBD generated from this post

Best of luck to everyone!


[@walkerland ]
Building a greener, more beautiful world one seed at a time.
Homesteading | Gardening | Frugal Living | Preserving Food| From Scratch Cooking|

You can also find me at: walkerland.ca

Photo copyright: @walkerland

WalkerLand_3-e1458831620676.png

Sort:  

What a great contest!
Come on everyone- get those skills honed in!

I have to think about what skill I would share...

Looking forward to a wide variety of skills and entries!

I hope people like the idea. I am really eager to see the entries.

Thank you, I look forward to reading it!

Great contest @walkerland! We will share a homestead skill :)

We are on a wildcrafting mission now, so perhaps there will be some footage to share :) depending on what we find!

Great contest! Resteemed and I will figure out what to enter! Thank you <3

I look forward to seeing what you share!!

Can we enter a previous post that meets the criteria?
For example: This one

Except for the #homesteadskills :-)

That is a great post! I think I'll have to say NO though when it comes to submitting previous posts. My intention was to increase the available homesteading knowledge & resources. I expect everyone to write a post specific for this contest. I think everyone will benefit from it in fresh upvotes on their submissions etc so it could be quite beneficial overall to everyone who enters. Do you think I need to be clearer in the written rules?

OK, I understand.
Clarification would preclude more inquiries like mine ;-)

sorry for not being clear enough. I've added a clearer instruction for it. I hope you'll still enter!!

How about new or most recent? I already submitted one I just wrote before you added that rule. It's still fresh :)

Great Idea! Resteemed & Following. :)

Thank you! I'm following you now as well. It looks like we have snowshoes and snow in common right now :)

Hey @walkerland, here is our entry! Thanks! ☺️🌿🙏

Wonderful! I look forward to reading it!

A wonderful idea! I will play along for sure <3

I look forward to your entry!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64097.37
ETH 3476.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53