The Merry Lotus: An Introduction to my off-grid life

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Hiddy there,
My name is Mary Lotus and I’m a 60 something year old, kick ass, wonder woman. I lived the daily grind just like most of you. I married fairly young, had kiddos, worked 40+ hours a week, planned my retirement, paid my bills and all the other stuff regular people do. We had a mortgage, car payments and credit card debt. Basically we worked to pay our bills, all the while believing we were living the American dream.

Just when you think you’re on top, life has a way of giving you a little smack to the head. In my case, literally. I was diagnosed with a rare form of brain cancer. Luckily, the tumor was removed by surgery. I endured all the radiation and experimental chemo treatments. I also lost all my hair and what does one do when faced with a glaringly white beacon of a bald head? Why get it tattooed of course. I had big beautiful, bold colored peonies tattooed in a Japanese style. (My ears rang for days afterwards).
Beth Head.jpg
I dealt with metastasis twice after that. I had many surgeries and endured many treatments. Today, I wear my scars with pride. Here is a picture of me dressed as Mother Nature. It’s one of my favorite pictures.

Eventually, the kid’s grew up and moved away and started their own lives. I worked more overtime to be able to afford my new snazzy car and my husband was busy being a journeyman electrician. We ate out a lot and watched TV to unwind at night. There wasn’t any time for vacations or much of anything else. That was until my husband died unexpectantly, after almost 30 years of marriage.

Unbeknownst to me, my husband had taken on more debt and had let the life insurance lapse. I was left alone, without a plan, with no future. Life just sucked. One night, several months after his death, I was watching TV when it dawned on me that I didn’t even like the show. It was just habit, what we used to do.

I had an epiphany that night. I realized I didn’t know who I was or really what I wanted to do with my life. I had spent my life compromising so much (evidentially, that’s the key to a successful marriage), that I had lost my own identity. I was in my 50’s with no clear cut plan and shortly, not even a pot to piss in. All I had was my income. The money I’d been using to pay most of the bills, was coming from the savings account that was drying up fast. Everything we had worked so hard for, the bank owned. We were stuck in the bigger is better cycle. All I saw in my future were payments. Payments for “stuff”, that as it turned out, I didn’t even really want.

I sat myself down with pen and a notebook. What dreams did I have before life swept me away? What would I regret if I didn’t get to do it? Where do I see myself in my golden years? I almost filled the entire thing. It took me awhile to whittle down some realistic choices, even if they did seem “crazy and far fetched”. This wasn’t a time to play it safe. I’d already done that. This was a royal opportunity that most people would never get in their lives. A chance for a complete do-over!

First thing I did was book a flight to Central America for myself and my grown children. We arrived with nothing but a passport, an arrival and departure date and backpacks. We sat off with no itinerary or agenda other than traveling through the rain forest (Did I tell ya, I did the whole thing in sandals?). For weeks, we slept and ate where we could. We ran across a fella who told us about this new thing called a zip line (minus pesky American safety standards). I’ll never forget travelling above the rain forest on that line or seeing a sloth from 20 feet away. Life is made of memories, better make some good ones.
Beth Zip-Lining.jpg
When we got back to the States I decided I was going to sell everything I could, surrender the vehicles, cash in my retirement, pay off what debt was left, buy some land in the middle of the woods and build a house there. And by golly, that’s exactly what I did. I lived in my husbands boy scout pup tent for several months while building my house. (I’ll save that story for some other time.) The beginning of my homesteading lifestyle took a deep hold.
tent.jpg
Today, I’m a plump (My doctor told me, it’s better to be a squirrel that stores away nuts for winter, yada yada, something.) big ball of awesome sauce. I have the most delightful gray hair that I’m letting grow out. I love wearing it in pigtails. I wish it would just turn white already, that would be cool. I don’t wear make-up, my boobs are down to my waist (not really) and I just gave up drinking diet pop, my last addiction. I still hear it calling my sweet name.
IMG_1902 (2).JPG
I look forward to sharing my adventures with you. Some will be serious, some educational, and hopefully a few wacky doddle stories thrown in for good measure (Like the time I showed up to a friends house in a different state with no pants on.) But, that’s for another day.
Onward in Strength,
Mary Lotus

Sort:  

Hi Mary, welcome to steemit.

You might be interested in the list of Homesteaders and Preppers on steemit to connect with other likeminded folk :

Let me know if would like to be included in the next list.

Yes Pennsif, that would be fantastic. I'm super new so not much content yet but I have lots of projects planned. I just love the fact that at our core, homesteaders are helpers who support each other. Glad to have met you.

The principal! He will give me TP! I would hate for my bungholio to get polio....Where I come from, we have no bunghole.

Your story is truly inspiring! thank you for sharing it! I'm pretty new to steemit and I just found your blog in my feed :) I really like that you can communicate with people in a more meaningful way in this network. You have actually helped me understand quite a lot about how steemit works and I'm already following you. Take care!

Ahh, thank you. I've been on vacation for the past week and need to catch up on here. Glad to have you aboard!

Hey @themerrylotus, welcome to steemit! I can already see, I'll be enjoying your stories a lot.
There is a vibrant homesteading community here, I'm sure you'd like. In this slack group https://steemithomesteaders.slack.com we chat, have fun, exchange information, help each other learn the ropes of steemit, and of course share posts. Take a look, see if you like it.

Looking forward to checking that group out. I'm currently lost in the sea of new language and operating thingie that is Steemit. Good thing this old dog isn't too old to learn some new tricks.

Welcome to the slack group! :-) It's a great way to start getting to know steemit (and don't worry, almost everyone is a bit overwhelmed at first, even the nerdiest ones). But just ask, and someone is bound to have some useful answer for you.
Oh, and that whacky doodle story you mentioned... it could let you win a contest that's going on right now: https://steemit.com/homesteadingchallenge/@kiaraantonoviche/steemit-homesteadingchallenge-2-theme-announcement-and-rules-sbd-reward-for-winner I'm trying to think of a good story to enter, and can't seem to think of anything. Still got some time till Wednesday though.
Okay, since I'm mentioning ongoing contests, there is an easier one here: https://steemit.com/homesteading/@pennsif/homestead-happiness-is-a-competition-with-up-to-15-sbd-in-prizes Sure, you could win a prize, but what I've found really neat about these challenges, is that it helps you get to know the other contestants a bit, who have your same interest (homesteading in this case).
Have fun, and see you around!

You are awesome! Welcome to Steemit. Very nice writing telling a bit of your fascinating journey in life thus far. I'm tuned in for more, good luck to you in everything!

Thank you. I'm nose deep in trying to learn this Steemit.

Welcome to Steem @themerrylotus I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Ok right off the bat you are AMAZING an I already adore you! I can't wait for your next post! You are inspiring and beautiful! (I also love wearing my hair in pigtails 🤗)I'm following, upvoted, and Resteemed! I'd like to invite you to join the homesteaders community here on steemit! #thl please follow as many as you like and they'll follow back! It's a wonderful, uplifting community 🤗 Welcome- I'm Angela!

Thank you so much. I'm all in. Homesteaders are the absolute best!

Ok great! I wanted to make sure you weren't left out 🤗

Welcome to Steemit where it pays to be you in more ways than one. Haha.. life is an adventure enjoy it. Nice to meet you. upvoted of course

Thank you rebeccabe. I'm a mere babe in this Steemit woods, learning the ropes.

I am a minnow too.. I joined last year, left and came back ... I like it here even though it has only been a couple of months steeming

I love reading "waking up" stories when someone wakes up and realizes they need to change course. Kudos for deciding to live. I hope steemit gives you a boost. I'm following you for sure! Upvoted and resteemed as well!

Waking up is exactly how it was for sure. Thanks so much.

You sound like my kind of people! I can't wait to read more of your incredible stories!

Oh gawd, hope I can live up tp the hype, haha.

Hey Marry! I loved your story! I bet you got a ton more where that came from. So good hear about you beating cancer and living your life to the fullest. You definitely need to get some more stuff up here...You got me all curious about this land you bought and the house you built. Welcome to steemit homesteading family! Theres a lot of awesomesauce folks here. Followed, upvoted and resteemed!

Thank you. I'm trying with all my might to figure this Steemit out. The community seems so warm and inviting, I love it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65697.93
ETH 3342.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63