2018 Homesteading Goals - List of 3

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Thanks to @jonpetrich for his post on his 2018 homesteading goals (https://steemit.com/homesteading/@jonpetrich/2018-homsteading-goals). This post inspired me to clarify my own goals and share them with you guys.

Top Three 2018 Homesteading Goals

One - Sell Salads

We have been homesteading and trying to farm for 8 years now. We produce loads of things, but the salads greens have the biggest potential for a product that can become more than just a sideline income. While we have been selling to 6 restaurants and some families for a while, this year we aim to get our salad in at least 10 stores and 5 new restaurants.

This is me marking the price on our new label.

And proudly dropping the first order off at the new store.

Two - Drip Tape

To support the growth of the salads, we want to roll out drip tape in all the salad fields. We have enough tape, but not enough connections.

IMG_6963.JPG

Three - Do Something with this Milk!

We also need to figure out what to do with all this goat milk. We have made yogurt for years with our goats milk, but last year we lost the culture. Also our yogurt was always pretty thin...and sometimes carbonated. I often called it Transendental Space Goat Yogurt Beer! I found it delightful, but many were not impressed. So we are dabbling in cheese making now. So making cheese is on our top three list for 2018. More specifically, it is to identify one solid recipe that we can follow to produce a marketable cheese.

IMG_6699.JPG

Heres a cheese...some sort of chevre!

IMG_7462.JPG

What are your top three homesteading goals for 2018???

Greetings from Atitlan Organics! We live and work in Lake Atitlan, Guatemala. Aside from our homestead and small scale farm, we host volunteers and offer workshops. And we are pumped to be a part of the #homesteading and #permaculture SteemIt Communities! Thanks for reading.

NOTE: This post is proudly filled, COMPLETELY, with original writing and photos. ENJOY!

Sort:  

Good ideas for the new year. Have you considered goat milk soap since you are having difficulty with producing a food product. Just thinking Good Luck to you in 2018. 🐓🐓

No I have never even thought of that, @mother2chicks maybe I'll give it a try. I definitely want something that is easy to produce consistently and easy to sell. What I like about the soap idea is that is is also very storable. Cheers!

Someone on here must make the soap and you could gather some tips. Best of luck ! 🐓🐓

If you end up doing soap, this may be a good resource for you: https://www.soapguild.org/

ooo. this is my goal for 2018 - milk goat soup! we think the same! yey! :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=squdsi1
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=2018-homesteading-goals-list-of-3


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

You got a 1.16% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @squdsi1!

My homesteading goals for this year, or let's just say it this winter so it will be faster:

  1. SOAPS with goat milk

  2. Perfumes with soya wax on solid base or jojoba oil for liquid base

  3. TOOTH PASTE with a new recipe and a new recipient :)

I am into handmade natural cosmetics, as you can imagine :) I prefer it more then growing food - i like to mix them up :) I come from a farmers background, my grandma is 80 and she still grows everything by herself. But me, now, I prefer to do other things until I settle down :) I still like to be nomad. One day, when I will say THIS IS IT, this is my place, I will start to have a garden! :)

I found your blog from the last post of @trucklife-family, where she promoted alternative people :) I am also living of grid, so it is a pleasure to meet alike minded people! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64657.99
ETH 3153.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59