2018 Homesteading Goals

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Here are three projects that I would like to complete before the spring planting season. What are 3 things you would like to finish/accomplish on your homestead?

First and MOST important is the new garden site:
IMG_2665.JPG

This new area is closer to the house and after removing a few trees for firewood it now has better sun light than the original location.

Second it to complete the goat pen and get them moved over to the property:
IMG_2684.JPG

The goats will be my mowers and land cleaners. The pen is being built with cedar lumber and posts that were milled from the property. The pair that we are getting have a very calm demeanor and will also make a good addition to the dog pack as they like to be leashed and go for walks on the trails.

Third is to get the chicken run built:
32166_10200198489257892_702723348_n.jpg

The coop is already built and the land is cleared for the fencing/run to be installed. It will be a long narrow (6' wide) run that it protected along the long sides from coyotes. There will be only small areas in the front and back that will need to be reinforced so they can't get in.

Tell me your list :)

Sharing is Caring.png

Sort:  

i'm oohing and aahing over that garden space!!!

you've inspired me to make my own post. i might have to do more than three, though. or stick with three and add two stretch goals? or maybe goal number one is simply "don't try to do it all, damnit" - haha!

How big is your homestead? Looks like a lovely area.

Thank you and it is! 7.5 acres

Sounds like a perfect size. Hopefully a manageable size!

Great idea @jonpetrich You inspired me to make my own post for my 2018 homesteading goals. It was super helpful to force myself to sit down, think, and prioritise my goals. Good luck with your new garden. It looks like pretty nice soil youre starting with.

Thank you @squdsi1 ! I am glad that I could inspire :) I normally am not one to plan... but this year I want to get it on paper, so I can cross them off ;)

I'm not sure how I'm going to get any of them done but my 3 are

  1. Finish constructing the hugelkulture bed and planting areas
  2. Cut poison ivy vines, clear out invasives, plant native edible trees & shrubs along creek
  3. Cut down trees that are in the way & use them for more hugelkulture

Sounds like a great list! Now I have to add one more.... The darn invasive holy NEEDS to go!

I didn't know Holly is invasive! I was thinking of planting some American Holly for part of natural fence. Missouri Dept of conservation doesn't consider poison ivy invasive because it's native. Try telling that to my creek's trees! Who are being smothered.

I have to add one more to my list, too. We have water and poisonous hemlock. :O Glad I asked for ids this year. Such a toxic plant to us

It is invasive around here. And over the last few years I have noticed more and more of it all over our island. Here is a quick link.

http://www.ssisc.info/home/english_holly

I sure am glad that we don't have to worry about the poison ivy here!

Ah, I see. I was thinking of American Holly because it's native here. English Holly is nice, too, but not if it's crowding out natives.

Looking forward to updates as the projects progress.

I wish I had a larger plot of land to have an appropriate garden; but have space issues, I am planning more containers and pots.

It just forces you to be more creative and more efficient :)

It also allows you to cover them more easily if you get bad weather!

We have a lot of trouble keeping the rain from ruining some of our plants before their done producing in the fall and the cover can keep the frost off for a while too.

Check into self-watering pots or making some yourself. It really makes a difference in your plants to have water readily handy, helps them develop deep roots, and keeps the water needs down.

I ended up making my own as tomato plants grow pretty big and I wanted to do 2-3 plants in the same container. I used big tubs like in this DIY but used large gravel on the bottom to support the barrier like in this sketch. It also helps if you use a long dowel to stick in the watering hole so that you can measure the water in the bottom and see when it still has water or it needs more.

beautiful place, enjoy it...!!
Happy new year...!!

Thank you! And I most certainly will! :) Happy New Year to you also!!!

We acquired a former homestead in western NC. Most of my work there is restoration agriculture. Most of the building repairs have been completed. The job this spring is to graft fruit trees before they all come out for the spring. Of course there's always a garden to plant.

Sounds great @yulem! I should get out today and start pruning the trees...!

Setting goals always helps me to work toward something definate. Every day I try to do a little something. 3 goals is perfect so I don’t get bored with the same thing.🐓🐓

I always said that if I lived on a property that was perfectly manicured and a house that was 100% complete; I would get soooo bored!!! I would probably end up tearing something up or knocking down a wall just for something to do 😂 I NEED projects! Is both my entertainment and my meditation. A perfect "day off" for me is working around the property :)

That is so true, and when you have things that need to be done you stay more active leading to being healthier now and into the future.

That is a great reminder! My Mom is a nurse. She says that for the most part the oldest and heaviest patients she see are ones that garden :)

Goats are great, looks like you got tons for them to eat! Just don't let them near the garden haha. I have 3 goats (well techincally 5 including offspring) one just born today! Following you :)

I think so too. And away from the orchard!!! Congrats! Do you milk them?

And I just hoped over to your page. Good stuff! Following you back :) Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 63252.28
ETH 3044.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52