Sort:  

Hmm, good question, I'm not actually sure as I've never tried. Let me ask around and see if one of my mates knows...

It lets you make your own....

:)>

Ah, ok, that's interesting. To be honest I have't done much in the way of custom guns. I have my culling rifle bedded in a custom stock and mods here and there. That's about the extent of it.

I wonder if adding an old style Mannlicher stock, and floated it, would allow a bipod up front on the stock.

That way, bipod pre-loading won't deflect the barrel....

:)>

I've never had loading the bipod affect the barrel adversely. They are always affixed to the stock via a pic-rail. I think if the barrel is bedded the affect would be negligible, if any. It's not a lot of force put on the loading, just enough to control the recoil better, steady the shot.

I've shot out to great distance in practical competitions whilst resting the barrel on a barricade, not ideal, but still effective...No affect on the shot, or at least not enough to make a difference to the shot. If I have a 12 inch gong (steel target) I don't care where I hit it...A hit is a hit...Take that same situation into the field and with the right calibre that hit anywhere in that 12 inch radius will have the required effect on the target, defeating it...If you know what I mean.

Ahhhh the pic rail would do the job, the barrel floats inside it! I will add that went I make the AR-10, LOL!

I am not up to that kind of shooting...yet, but we will see! I have used rifle rests to good effect.

Have you used shooting sticks?

:)>

I have shot off a tripod using a big saddle, but never off a shooting stick. I guess it would work but there's still a lot of movement possible. More stable than free hand though I guess. As I get older, and my back hurts more (have scoliosis) I'll have to look to other means to shoot so it's something I will look into.

The back I can help you with, I have had three back surgeries! Two herbals will help; tumeric (with 5% black pepper) taken daily, and a tincture of Comfrey applied topically will do wonders. This I have studied by the pound method....

If you can't find some locally, here is how you make some:

https://steemit.com/herbal/@smithlabs/making-comfrey-tincture-at-home-part-one-the-decoction-process

https://steemit.com/herbal/@smithlabs/first-extraction-of-comfrey-after-decoction

https://steemit.com/herbal/@smithlabs/final-extraction-of-comfrey-by-steam

Tumeric works similar to NSAIDs, without hurting the stomach. It is a spice, and is actually good for your gut.

Comfrey is a volicferant (healing enhancer) that supplies allentoin, which will penetrate about a foot deep, and draws in hyaluronic acid (which is what the body uses like mortar to hold cells together) to speed healing

A TENS unit will also help with pain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.86
ETH 3531.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53