You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Curing bacon and rendering lard!

in #homesteading7 years ago

Very inspiring! I have 1 1/2 gallons sheep fat in my freezer that I need to render and plan to trade some meat for pig fat to make lard this winter for the first time. How did you end up straining the cracklins from the lard?

Sort:  

Sheep fat, please tell me how that turns out! I used half a t-shirt on top of a strainer, but I ended up throwing it away because I couldn't get the fat off it. I'll probably use some scrap fabric similar to cotton next time because I ended up losing a cheese cloth this time.

So I got around to trying rendering pork lard using your cotton method and it worked great! https://steemit.com/homesteading/@sagescrub/pork-lard-for-cooking-frying-and-baking-rendered-from-pork-back-fat

Thanks that's helpful to know. Do you think a fine metal strainer would work too or would that let too much through? I've not made sheep tallow but I tasted it and like it, it's quite mild in flavor and color compared to pig lard. I'll definitely keep you posted. As it's getting colder and the wood stove is getting fired up more I'm planning on doing it soon!

You could always try with the strainer, but I think sturdy paper could work too instead of fabric. I would have imagined sheep to taste more, that's interesting.

Yeah the sheep fat is very mild and not "sheepy" in comparison to the meat! Thanks I might try both and see what works best.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59500.17
ETH 2654.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41