Matchsticks on Plants

in #homesteading5 years ago

A couple of months ago, I had a little wilting and yellow-ing problem with my plants. It was a bit bothering so I needed to find out what was causing the slightly yellowish leaves of my chilli plants. I saw a couple of articles saying that planting matchsticks into the plant pot will help solve this problem. According to this, phosporous and magnesium, both of which are present in matchstick heads help plants grow more fruits and also aids in making the leaves greener.

I thought it was a crazy idea. Even my mom never did that on her plants before - even now - so it was the first time I heard about this. But for the lack of other solution, I went ahead and tried it. A few weeks later, my chilli plants are back into blossoming and producing more and more fruits. Who would've known, right?

Right now, I'm literally just waiting for them to grow so I can get back into harvesting again.


I'm adding crushed egg shells on top of the soil as well. This I got from my mom. Never really understood it but I found out that apparently, plants need calcium as well.

And since I'm at the matchsticks magic with the chillis, I went ahead and tried it with my pechay seedlings I am sprouting on a new pot. I'm not sure if it's being helpful, but so far, I'm seeing a few sprouts already, which I hope would soon grow into big green pechay leaves.

The magic of matchsticks. Who knew, right? I didn't. Haha! But now I know! :p Now there's something I can teach my mom! 😊

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi @romeskie!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.872 which ranks you at #11730 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 210 places in the last three days (old rank 11520).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 200 contributions, your post is ranked at #124.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You've been visited by @minismallholding from Homesteaders Co-op.

I love this surprising trick! Two not so surprising fertilisers would be epsom salts for the magnesium and wood ash for phosphorus (potash). I think I might have to go with them as I have a reasonable supply and I'm sure it would take way too many matches for the whole garden! ;D I've highlighted this post in the Homesteading - Natural Living newsletter.


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

I'd have used epsom salt but it's too expensive around here. Or I just don't know where to look. Lol. I didn't know about wood ash. Thanks for dropping by. :)

It can certainly get expensive. The only reason I have plenty of it, is because I buy it in 25kg at wholesale price and there is a HUGE difference in the price per kg that way. We use it in the bath too, so makes it more worthwhile, especially when we empty it onto the garden.

Posted using Partiko Android

If you soak the egg shells in apple cider vinegar, it chelates the calcium into a form the plants can readily take up. It only takes about a tablespoon of the chelated mix in a gallon of water....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60603.53
ETH 2702.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44