Homesteading Challenge - 2018 goals for Tangwystl Cottage

in #homesteading7 years ago

When I read about this challenge, I thought it was something I should like to participate in, especially as it benefits me to sit down and clearly define the goals that have merely been floating around in my brain for some time. So ...

enter image description here

Broadly-speaking, my goal is greater self-sufficiency. This obviously needs breaking down into achievable steps:
Step 1) plant more heritage fruit trees
~I will be choosing from a catalogue of select trees, all heritage varieties. The genetic diversity of which is something I feel is important for the continued sustainability of our food supply (plus I get a kick from thinking I am growing a link to the past - this is my genealogical soul calling).
~I will be able to order the fruit trees, as I did a couple of seasons ago, from the South Coast Environment Centre (and in doing so I am supporting a wonderful cause as they promote organics, self-sustainability, local-produce and more); this will mean a bit of an expense in travel costs though to pick up the trees, and so the more I can order the more cost-effective this incidental becomes (luckily the town is scenic, and on the coast so we get a trip to the beach and the chance to scavenge for seaweed for the garden: win-win!).
~Most varieties on offer by the SCEC are apples, many of which they have collected cuttings from around the district off old established trees; other fruits on offer include apricots, peaches, pears, quince, plums, cherries, etc.
~The trees become available around August/September as it is the optimal time for establishing them in the garden in this part of the world, so I have time to plan ... and dream ... and plan some more. It also gives me time to put aside a bit of money regularly to save up for this project. I hope to have at least 300NZD to put towards my purchases. (Last time, it cost me 200NZD for 8 trees, but I imagine the prices will have increased per tree.)
~Siting of the trees around the property is important to figure out, as I plan to espalier as many as possible. Reasons for this include ease of maintenance and fruit-picking, and being able to cover the trees with bird-netting; and they can be used as a form of wind-break for other plants nearby; plus I can probably squeeze more into our section this way. I want to use areas around the garden other than the unsuitable boundary fences, so I will need to establish new places for the trees to sit.
~I already have a small number of the heritage fruit trees, bought two seasons ago, plus several that were already here when we moved onto the property so I want to increase the variety of fruit we'll have to choose from, as well as more staggered production, achievable by planting a mix of early-main-late season maturing varieties (not to mention those ones that need cross-pollination).
~A large, and important, part of my orchard is its organic aspect. I will be able to control exactly what products are used on the fruit, which only benefits our health to the good. I can use companion-planting practices by under-planting the espaliered trees with beneficial flowers & herbs (a win-win for the bees, too!).
~Aside from the purchase of the tree stock, I also need to invest in the materials for espaliering. I haven't quite settled on the type of fencing or trellising I want to use - it is a juggle between what will look nice and natural, or practical and budget-friendly. As part of the espaliering I am wanting to sit them inside raised beds, so need the wood for that (I try and use old pallets as part of my recycling theme but this is subject to their availability); plus more soil to fill the beds.
~The only real downside to this project is that there won't be any 'instant' results - aka it takes several years before the trees start to produce a good crop of fruit for us. But if I don't do it this year, then that is a whole nother year's potential lost.

enter image description here
One of the heritage apple trees from my previous purchase: Alfriston.

Watch out for updates on this project ... in about 9 months time!

enter image description here

Sort:  

Congratulations @ravenruis! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi @kiaraantonoviche just letting you know I have entered your homesteading challenge no. 7. :)

Awesome thank you! Great plans - fruit trees are a good investment and one that I am interested in too! You've officially been entered into the challenge!

Thank you, I am excited! :D

Thank you for participating in the most recent #homesteadingchallenge! This comment is to inform you that the winner and a few honorable mentions have just been announced! I hope to see you in future contests!

Thanks, it was a great contest to participate in. :)

You can never have too many fruit trees.

My target over three years is to get to 100 trees altogether. I am a bit over half way now.

You can never have too many fruit trees.

This is what I think too! :D The more the merrier .... and yummier.

I believe you have a slightly larger backyard than I do so can squeeze more in, but that is a fantastic goal. I'd love to hear (if you haven't already posted about it) which varieties you are going with.

Fruit trees are awesome. We have a few that we've planted around here (which was pretty painful as the ground is clay, just about require heavy machinery!). Of course the big problem is that we bought to sell so if we move anytime soon transporting them is going to be a pain. Ordinarily we'd just leave them for the next owner/tenant but thanks to rezoning our house is probably going to get flattened so some developer can cram 6 units into it and charge a small fortune for the privilege of occupying it...though if it proves to be too much the poor things may end up getting abandoned anyway as they're just at the size where it's going to be hard and they might die anyway after being moved :<

Most of them have been producing decent crops for the past couple of years (though the stone fruits probably should be netted as we almost never get any thanks to starving birds XD), grapes only just started this year though and hopefully the oranges will be edible now (they've fruited over the last couple of seasons but they could turn faces inside out). Definitely worth the effort and the time I think ;D

goatsig

Oh what a shame to lose the trees as they're just kicking into production. BUT you could take this opportunity to start some cuttings, maybe? Keep them in large pots for moving?

lol, I know I'd want to take all mine with me in case new owners didn't appreciate them

The move isn't guaranteed. The house we went and looked at is pretty much perfect, just a pity about commutes XD So just doing the calculations and tough decisions at the moment and see where we end up :)

goatsig

Fruit trees are such a fabulous investment. It's something we overlooked because a nearby business allowed us to harvest all their fruit. Last year that arrangement ended, so we no longer have a source for fresh, organic, FREE apples, pears, and plums. You've inspired me to consider whether we can add some trees in the Spring!

I am chuffed to be an inspiration, in any fashion. :D

A shame, certainly, that your arrangement has ended. This sort of thing highlights that for me it pays to become as self-sufficient as possible, even though it is more community-minded to interact with others it isn't as stable a platform as we sometimes need it to be.

Most people don't want organic out of their garden, even if they have one.

After all those apples all look so gross: small, misformed, omething in them every time...

New Year's Resulutions normally fail because people don't know how to set goals.

For example they say "plant more trees".
Which is a really really bad way to make a goal.

Better would be:

Plant 3 trees, latest by September, in my backyard, have 3 people help me.
5 month earlier I have decided which trees, 3 month earlier I have decided where I get them and the money to pay for them.

Oh @lennstar are you offering to help me plant those 3 trees? woohoo! :D

lol. I get what you are saying, yes. Be more specific. :)

Yes, I am offering you to plant those 3 trees in my backyard, together with 2 other people, until September. That is what I wrote. :P

Well pffft! :p
I do expect vlog evidence of this fun-and-yet-practical project of yours. Can't have you falling behind in your goals, eh? :D

if you bring the video machine too. I don't have such a thing.

Hmpft. Next think is you'll be expecting me to bring the trees, too! :p

trees are definitely a long-term goal, and they will be rewarding your efforts for many years to come!

we too are dreaming of some espaliers - good luck to us all! :D

Gosh, it sounded like you have a huge garden too be planting all those trees! Then you said espalier, so I'm guessing not so huge after all. Trees really are a lesson in patience aren't they.

Oh yes! I want them all to be producing massively straightaway, lol. C'mon Mother Nature, gear it up a notch. :D

I have a 1/4 acre section and I'd rather have most of it in food production than lawn.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57979.07
ETH 3124.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36