Foraging for Wild Edibles in my Backyard

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

In this video I will take you on a short tour through my backyard to identify some wild edibles. These plants can be highly nutritious and can have medicinal benefits. Some plants included will be greenbriar, wood sorrel, lambsquarters, poke sallet, wild lettuce, and wild blackberry. Always make sure to properly identify any wild plants before consuming, as some can be toxic. If you have any questions about these plants please leave a comment below and I will be happy to respond. Thanks for supporting our veterans and veteran witnesses here on Steemit!

Rakkasan.jpgvet tag.png

witnessvotes.png

Sort:  

How did you learn all this? Great video! You should teach classes or something.
Have you tried dandelion leaves? I'm guessing our wild dandelions don't taste as good as the dandelions that were originally brought to America.

I have a book on wild edibles that I reference to and also watch others' videos on YouTube. I like dandelion but it is bitter.

Always had trouble figuring out plants. I would probably end up poisoning myself. Now my sister is a root worker so she knows all the plants.

Great video!

I need to get out and do some backyard foraging and plant identification myself, and this is a great reminder!

Interesting, I see couple of those things everywhere! though I dont know I would be safe identifying I would eat some crazy Sh*t lmao. Keep these up brother. Oh and I noticed my tip from AK 😉😉

5 Star Post
✪✪✪✪✪

This is awesome info! I'm south of you (TX ) and it looks like I have everything you just looked at out here as well. BTW, do you have any problems with poison ivy/oak/sumac? I didn't see any in the video but my internet is slow and I couldn't load the higher resolution.
I'm pretty sure I have at least LOTS of poison ivy (maybe some oak /sumac) here also mixed in with a ton of other stuff, plenty of which that appears edible. I've been undecided on the best approach to get rid of the poison ivy safely. I definitely develop a rash after touching it but spraying it with poison seems like a bad idea if I plan on eating the other stuff that's growing right next to it. Any suggestions?

If you spend as much time outside as me you'll become immune to the stuff. I wouldn't eat anything that is really close to or touching the poison ivy/oak. Poison sumac is more to the southeast of OK/TX, what we have here is called Staghorn sumac, and the berries can be steeped in hot water to make a tea.

Marked this to watch for later, when I'm not at work ;-) Love to forage and a very valuable skill. Everyone should know the local fauna that you can eat. Always very handy - it's funny that not many people realize that what might be a weed now could save your ass in the future. You can also plant some ornamental plants that serve two... ooops three purposes. We planted Rose hip around the front of the house. It smells great when it flowers; you can eat the fruit and its a pernicious security barrier.

If you're familiar with the brand Bayer, you know they make both Aspirin and pesticides. One of their commercials shows them spraying their pesticide on a dandelion. Dandelions produce the same active compound in Aspirin called "Salicylate". Talk about killing the competition.

We loved your great content so much we wanted to showcase it in our weekly curation report where you will be paid from the post payout. Thank you!

You can find the post here;

https://steemit.com/helpie/@helpie/helpie-s-homesteading-curation-report-12-by-helpie-curator-llfarms

I think I have a lot of wild blackberry plants on the front of our property. I will have to go and check when this rain stops. Those wild blackberries make the best jam and wine.

CONGRATULATIONS!!
Your post was mentioned in my Preppers' Curation Day- Weekly Edition 13 today as a bonus link!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62678.63
ETH 3015.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49