Bounties Of The Land Episode 4: WildCrafted Chocolate Mint! My Favorite Herbal Smoking Blend! Video, Statistics, Uses, and More!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Greetings!


Today I go out onto the land to do some super food harvesting for a new episode of Bounties of The Land!

We cultivate a LOT of super foods here in The Garden of Eden.

Most of them are wildcrafted, meaning we establish a permaculture-style environment where they can naturally grow & reproduce with little to no effort. We do this because it is the most efficient and sustainable way. 



I won't go into too much more detail as I have a whole video on it for you!

After the video I will list some of the nutrition, contents, uses, etc. 

I hope you watch this video and get inspired by how amazing chocolate mint is and how easy it is to grow and use!


Ok so here are some educational information facts about mint to impress you!


Peppermint has been one of the most well known and used herbs known since ancient times for its taste, aroma and medicinal value. Mint has a special taste and smell, almost like a cool breeze.  This unique quality of mint herb is because of the presence of menthol, an essential oil in its fresh leaves, and stem.

Botanically, the herb belongs to the Lamiaceae family, in the genus; Mentha, and botanically named as Mentha piperita. It is actually a natural cross hybrid between the water mint (Mentha aquatica) and spearmint (Mentha spicata).

In general, the mint plant is sterile; producing no seeds. However, its growth happens through the spreading through its underground rhizomes. There exist more than 20 varieties of mint herbs with a wide range of color, fragrance, and flavor.


Mint contains many chemical compounds that are known to be antioxidant, disease preventing and health promoting properties. Total antioxidant strength (ORAC) of fresh peppermint herb is 13,978 µmol TE/100 g.

  • Mint is rich in essential oils, vitamins and dietary fiber, which helps to control blood cholesterol and blood pressure inside the human body.


  • The essential oil, menthol also has been analgesic (painkiller), local anesthetic and counter-irritant properties. 

  • Peppermint is a great source of minerals like potassium, calcium, iron, manganese and magnesium. 100 g fresh herb provides 569 mg of potassium. Potassium is an important component of cell and body fluids that helps control heart rate and blood pressure. Manganese and copper work as cofactors for the antioxidant enzyme, superoxide dismutase.


  • Mint is rich in many antioxidant vitamins, including vitamin-A, β- carotene, vitamin-C, and vitamin-E. The leaves of mint also contain many essential B-complex vitamins like folates, riboflavin and pyridoxine (vitamin B-6); and the herb is an excellent source of vitamin-K.

  • The herb parts contain many essential volatile oils like menthol, menthone, menthol acetate. These compounds effect on cold-sensitive receptors in the skin, mouth, and throat, the property which is responsible for the natural refreshing, cooling sensation that it initiates when inhaled, eaten, or applied to the skin. 



I particularly love chocolate mint in desert foods and it is one of my favorite teas of all time! 

As I said it is also my favorite smoking blend of which I mix with home grown tobacco or ganj! Truly delicious!

You can find a link to that here! 

Also the TEA BLEND HERE!



I hope this information was valuable to you and you are inspired not only by the truly miraculous qualities of this SUPER FOOD but by NATURE itself. 


I have found that health is natural and nature has provided abundant and sustainable remedies for all problems. I pray that people reconnect with natural living and reap the rewards as I have. 

Because of this not only do I cultivate it for my self, family and community but also make sure to make it available to you!

If you wold like to check out my other 3 "Bounties of The Land" episodes you can do so here: 


Bounties Of The Land Episode 3: Harvesting World Renowned Aloe Vera To The Power of Eden! Video, Statistics, Uses, and More!


"Bounties Of The Land Episode 2: WildCrafted Oxalis Harvest & Taste Test Video!"



"Bounties Of The Land Episode 1: WildCrafted Superfood Japanese Shiso. Article, Pictures Video, Recipe, Smoke Blend!"



If you like these posts and would like to sign up for our newsletter we send it out once a week and is titled Chronicles of Eden which is full of valuable information on health, sustainability, parenting, event, honorable products and more!

If you like the hand painted sustainably made steemit gear that I wear in my videos/pictures or the hand made pure stone jewelry or other gear you can get them for $teem. I have many listed on PeerHub and you can also contact me via Steemit or put in a custom order.  



I also make them available for fiat on The Garden of Eden web site of which I donate to, to feed, clothe, educate and heal tens of thousands of people a year!

As always, I appreciate your support and welcome your feedback!


SteemON!






Sort:  

I need to try that plant, if it makes me so ripped as well :)

Oh yes, wildcrafted super foods will make a warrior out of you!

Mmmmmm, chocolate mint!!!
Great post, I'm really enjoying this series!

Yes its my fav!!!

Chocolate mint is my favorite too...just the name alone is yummy!!!! Herbs really are such a great benefit to our health. So grateful for the abundance! Great post @quinneaker.

Yes indeed!

@quinneaker you always a great guy
.keep it up

Thanks, I appreciate the vote of confidence!

I intend to contribute content of real value!

SteemON!

Always welcome great man...

Blessings~*~

thanks as always sir... ;)

Have both mint and peppermint at my balcony.
I use it fresh in my meals, both salads and pasta or similar.
This time of year, i find every day these little green monsters, eating the leafs.
That is so frustrating, any advice?
Nice post , flwd n upvt. tip!

Great job!

Yes nature has a solution for EVERYTHIGN!

First you need to find out what kind of "monsters" you have. There are various plants that will repel them, there are various bugs that will eat them and then there are also natural chemicals that will kill them.

That greedy bugs , that stand on their back "feet" and swing the rest of their body,
trying to reach the next leaf.
Since i live in an apartment, some natural chemical or essential oil to spray is easier for me to use!
But cause i m chewing leafs straight from the plant some times i need something that wont hurt me either.

Well as I said, first step is to determine what BUG it IS

Why thank you!
Love having you tune in and share your experience!

I am new to herbs and have been researching so much information about the herbs for herbal tea blends, but I have also been looking at the benefits of certain ones for smoking; we even have a cigarette roller machine.

thanks for sharing!

@originalworks

Yes herbs are one of the best medicines on earth and can remedy just about everything. Check out @gardenofeden as they have LOTS of posts on herbs and natural medicine. I post about it form time to time maybe once a week.

Nature is the way~*~

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @quinneaker to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment!

For more information, Click Here!

Fantastic article Quinn! The beauty of mint is how easy it is to grow. When I first started gardening, I put it in the same containers as other herbs and it quickly took over the entire container. Let's just say I learned my lesson ;)

I want a Garden with all the plants!!! <3

Who knew there were so many uses for mint.. I use it when I make sun tea but that's about it

Oh yes, it is very useful and very sustainable and very healthy!

Oh yeah it grows like a weed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57605.72
ETH 3101.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33