Bounties of the Land Episode 10 PECANS: Video, Photo Shoot & Valuable Information for Sustainable Thrival!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading7 years ago

Today I share another episode of Bounties of The Land!


In this episode I focus on one of my favorite sustainable crops in The Garden of Eden, PECANS!



This video is packed with a wealth of knowledge and more importantly EXPERIENCE of living sustainably for many years in great health and happiness!

I will share a few photos and some words before the video. 

Pecans grow naturally and abundantly in Texas and not only do we have 4 trees here in The Garden of Eden but also there are many trees growing all over the state. 

They are delicious and super nutritious!

You know when they are ready because the outer casing turns from green to brown and begins to split off of the inner shell. 



The inner shell is a perfectly sealed storage container for this precious nut! Nature shows its sustainable perfection YET AGAIN!



You can see the difference between the outer  husk and inner shell. The shells are quite difficult to open and while I did opened this one with my teath some kind of machine is better which I discuss and much more in the video!



The nut it self should be sweet and soft. Its a lot of work by hand but super delicious and nutritious!



There are actually two pieces to the inner nut in pecans similar to walnuts. 



I hope you watch the video as it has lots of information. 



If you liked this episode, but did not see last weeks "Bounties of the Land Episode 9: Video and Photo Shoot, Winter Crops, Success in Diversity, Super Foods and Eden Family Cameo!" 


It is a wonderful episode and I am outfitted in some of my Steemit Skivvies!



As with all the clothing I wear its from my clothing line as is the jewelry. You can find an extensive post on my hand painted SteemGear clothing line here. 



You can find an extensive post on all my hand made jewelry in my "Medicinal Jewelry Line" HERE!


I am supporting this community every day by promoting it and increasing the value of $teem. I am also supporting humanity and all of earth by living at unprecedented sustainable standards every day. 




I appreciate your support and welcome your feedback!

SteemOn!


Sort:  

Pecans are such an amazing food. And the fact that we can just walk out the door, crack them open and enjoy them right now, is even more fantastic. Great post. I love this series where you share such valuable information about nature. Truly information that can help everyone!!!

∞§∞EverLove∞§∞

NUTS!!! What a great post, super informative and valuable info. Pecan trees grow all over the southern US, so hopefully lots of people learn to recognize and utilize the abundance of free food they offer! Thanks for sharing the wisdom.

I really like the 5th pic of the nut on the ground, nice pop of color there.

Yes I am very pleased with this post and yes the BOUNTIES OF THE LAND PROVIDE!

May it inspire and transform the world!

∞§∞Bless it be∞§∞

Hi @quinneaker I have just been looking in to your GardenofEden project. Just wanted to compliment you on your passion and drive for your projects which looks truly exceptional. The world needs healers and inspirations like yourself. My wife turned to a natural healing process through food for her troubles with psoriasis and the results have been out of this world. Keep up the fantastic work.

YES!

All the solutions, all the medicine all of EVERYTHING we could ever need already exists.

Let they food be they medicine and you will be off to a good start!

I guess they have to grow wild somewhere, the pecan grow well in the areas away for the coast around here. The Macadamia Nut is native to the Sunshine Coast Australia and would probably grow well where you are. They are a tough nut to crack. You’d never do it with your teeth but they are sweet and no fiddling with the bitter pith like a pecan.
If you subscribe to the saying if it looks like an organ of the body it’s good for it then the pecan must be good for your brain.

I have cracked them with my teeth before as I did in this video. Though it is not the wisest practice.

Yes I am sure pecans are great for the brain!

I didn't know the English name for that thanks hey Pecans 😍

Man, you've got strong teeth. haha

Cool post. I love pecans and we have made a tradition of foraging pecans each Thanksgiving. This year will be our second. Will need to pick up one of those nut picking devices from Lowes.

Thanks for sharing.

Your welcome,

Thanks for the comment!

Enjoy your traditions! I am glad its a healthy and sustainable one!

Interestingly, I dont think I've ever heard of pecan. Damn☹️

😔 I know right...terrible

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54134.64
ETH 2467.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16