You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Making Our Morning COFFEE - You Can Have Fantastic Coffee OFF GRID *PLUS VIDEO*

in #homesteading7 years ago

What would the world be like without coffee? I do not even want to consider that. It is the "life blood" for my wife and I every morning.

While we had a Keurig and my wife enjoyed using it, it some how got lost in our move from NC to MO. The only box never found was box # 108 that had the Keurig! That was in August and we are still waiting on the claim! (Never hold your breath if waiting on a return from the government!! Ha Ha)

I purchased a Pour-Over and a Chemex and tried them both. I really did not enjoy them as much as I do the French Press. I could not get the strength high enough to my liking. But for me I think it also has something to do with ease and time. At 05:50 we wake up and I grind the beans. I got the grinder set for 8 cups to a medium fine grind. Set the pot of water on the stove and start heating it up. Then its a battle for 5 minutes to wake the kids to get them ready for school. By time that is done the water is getting near 170 degrees. Pour the grinds and water in the press and leave it sit. Back to harassing my kids who are still in bed. They say after four minutes to press and serve, but for me it ends up being about six to ten minutes and then I press. The coffee is strong and stout but to me it is perfect! For my wife on the other hand, I better add some milk and syrup to it.

Thanks for sharing brother! Stay warm and keep enjoying a hot cup of Joe!

Kenny
Pfeiler Family Farm

Sort:  

Wow....I'd love to try a cup of that!

If you are ever in the KC area let me know! I will have a fresh press ready!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58309.71
ETH 2617.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42