Pennsif's Progress - The Days are Numbered // Day 998 : Life's a Peach and then you Fly

in #homesteading7 years ago

Not been so well today so only managed a few hours outside working.

But to perk me up we did pick our first ever peach. We haven't really got the climate for peaches here in west Wales but this peach tree seems to have grown happily in our conservatory. And there are 4 more peaches still to come.

The garden is booming at the moment, so I spent some time harvesting today. Beans, peas, broccoli, cabbage, lettuce, potates. The improvements I made to the soil in the raised beds over the winter is really paying off - the crops are fantastic.

And we also got our first Sungold tomato from the new greenhouse :

We've only had the greenhouse for a month now but it is really proving its worth.

It has been so successful that I have ordered a second one to sit next to the first one.

It will be a 8 foot by 12 foot aluminium greenhouse from The Greenhouse People.

The first one was delivered promptly and all was as it should be. The quality is good and the price even better (with a sale price and a 10% discount code).

I've just confirmed the delivery date for the second greenhouse as 13 July. So by the end of July we should the polytunnel and two greenhouses all up and running.

We would like to have had all these erected by Easter so they were all ready for the start of the growing season but stuff happened...

Nevermind we are getting back on plan and we should hopefully still reach our target of doubling our food production this year. Last year we managed about 90kg (200lb) of crops. Can we reach 180kg (400lb) by the end of the year?

To help towards our target I planted 3 pumpkin plants that someone gave us today, and a dozen cauliflower starts. The cauliflowers we have already harvested this year have been exceptionally good.

That's all for now.

Good night.


Some of my recent posts :

Pennsif's Pick of the Week - my top 10 Homesteading & Prepping posts I've found in my first 7 days

Pennsif's Progress - Day 999 - Life in the Trenches

My list of Preppers & Homesteaders on steemit

My intro post


If you found this post useful or interesting please do upvote, resteem and follow. Thank you.
Sort:  

Congratulations on your harvests so far! I am trying to convince the hubby that we need a greenhouse.

Thank you @oilyshumblehome. With our rather wet and not so hot climate here in Wales a greenhouse really is a good investment for extending what we can grow and when we can grow.

I bet! We have the opposite problem: Our area doesn't receive much rain amd gets very hot. Looks like we both need that happy medium huh?

We set up a greenhouse (funny story there) and it blew over and often comes off its frame.
We have since remedied the situation with heavy duty anchors but it does get battered and needs replacement parts (the top already and the front and back soon.)
We use it for storage now. Someday I will tell the story of why we added it.

Oh gosh, I hope ours doesn't suffer the same fate. Do tell the story...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22