TEST DRIVING ANOTHER PAIR OF HOOF TRIMMERS - WILD GETS A PEDICURE

in #homesteading6 years ago

I'm getting pretty good at this.


I should really learn to do the "maintenance" on all of my animals at once. However, we didn't get them all at the same time. After first trimming hooves with a razor blade, many steemians suggested I use shears.

Honoring their suggestions, I tried a pair of power scissors while simultaneously testing out our milking stand for hoof trimming with our doe Daisy. Thankfully, both were a success. Today, I had to take care of our new doe Wild, and got to get Crockett at the same time. This time, I tested out some actual "hoof rot sheers."

TESTING THEM OUT

With the help of a few @little-peppers, we got a hold of Wild. Not all goats are friendly, and she's still new to us, so it did take a little effort. Thankfully, I travel thick sometimes and bring reinforcements with me.

As you can see in the photo above, she needed a trim. If the hooves grow to long, they fold over and trap feces and dirt beneath them, which can actually cause the hooves to rot. If the animals are not in a rocky enough location to naturally wear the hooves down, periodical trimming is needed to keep them healthy. Here are a few shots of the process.

TRIMMING WITHOUT A STAND

If you pay careful attention to my legs in the photo above, you can see that it took a bit of leg-wrestling to hold the goat still. Even without my hands I was able to get a good grip on the goat and get the job done. I like a firm but friendly leg-lock to keep the animal calm and secure.

CROCKETT TOO!

Crockett was due for a trim too, and he was on our to do list. Since our little goat kids are still new, we should be good on hoof trimming for a while. He took it well too, and we were glad that his hooves are still in good shape too.

As I reflect on the three methods that I've used so far; razor blade, scissors, and hoof shears, I must admit that I am most accustomed to using a razor blade, but that is the most dangerous method. Blades are just so easy to get into the right places or get the proper angle with. However, just one slip could be disastrous for either me or the animal, so we will be retiring that method.

I'll probably just stick to these shears, since this is the actual job that they are designed to do and the scissors are handy enough on so many other projects they'll stay busy anyway. Again, I'm still new to all of this, but I'm learning and gaining experience every step of the way. Not only that, as I learn I can help others learn too!

Soon after trimming our first hooves on our homestead we were next door helping @bluerthangreen learn how. As you can tell, this was still in the old "razor blade" days. We will have to show him a new way next time! If any of you are going to be trimming goat or sheep hooves, just get the shears. It'll help!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-hoof-trimmers

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Que hermoso post, por el gesto tan bello por el bien de los animales.

Muchas gracias. ¡Me alegra que lo hayas disfrutado!

It is admirable what you do, someone else in your place will pay for this type of care to their animals, congratulations for: first I see that it is an activity that you enjoy, second we include your family and spending time with them is the best gift, third you are giving a great example to those children.. your act overflows with humility and kindness, I congratulate you... (this is also part of the blessings I commented on in your previous post) that the successes follow.

Hello @papa-pepper

You continue to not only inspire us but educate us various aspects of caring for animals, plant cultivation and general agricultural activities. The other day was gifting US based fans hops free of charge! Man...you're just awesome. Your page is my virtual home and will continue to be!

@eurogee of @euronation community & The Host, Show Us Your Witnesses Weekly Contest

This is very nice thing for homestead. You are so kind man. Because I have watched that you taken care the animals. Your babies are so cute.

Thank you. The children are precious indeed!

When we were at @mericanhomestead last fall for Sukkot my husband and I taught a class on trimming sheep (and goat) hooves. Over the past few years we've figured out a way that seems to work really well for us and have been successful with. You can see my Steemit post from last October for details on what we use. Hope it helps you! :)
https://steemit.com/animals/@themyrrhmaid/trimming-sheep-hooves

I love animals because they are dump and speechless and they can not express their feelings.the greatness of a nation is judged by the way its animal are treated.each an every animal on earth has as much right to be here as you and me..
keep it up bro i like your love to the animals
stay blessed...

Amazing act of kindness, I celebrate you @papa-pepper for your remarkable contributions to the world both offline and online. You're amazing

Thanks man. I try to balance life and do it properly!

That's inspiring, I will learn to master that art, still finding it difficult to properly do that

Good Luck...please visited and vote ^_^

I wonder how you can keep that goat from not kicking you. Work outside like this gives makes you young and healthy.

wow very nice test driving post.

They passed the test!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57453.27
ETH 2928.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67