STEEMIT SEED SAVERS - CHINESE NOODLE BEANS

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

In case you do not know, this is my new favorite garden plant.


Last year I even did a Garden Plant Spotlight on it and the First Ever Steemit Seed Giveaway. Some steemians like @cryptoiskey and @jed78 wound up with some, as well as others like @robrigo and @matt-a. I would recommend growing this incredible food to anyone and everyone!

Recently, we had some of our crop mature to the point that it was time to harvest them to start saving our seeds for next year. Mostly, Monster Truck and I took the lead on this project. Here is my #howto video on harvesting seeds from the Chinese Red Noodle Bean.

STEEMIT SEED SAVERS - CHINESE RED NOODLE BEAN

HOW DO YOU KNOW WHEN THEY ARE READY?

In the photo above you can see two of the bean pods. The beans are enjoyed for food before the pod forms the actual beans, so they are harvested when they are still slender and between 12 and 18 inches in length. The Noodle Bean on the right is ready to eat.

Once the bean passes its prime for eating purposes, it can be left to further develop on the vine. It will grow even longer and become filled with the actual beans. Once these dry, they are ready to save. As you can see in the photo above, the dry outer shell can now be opened to expose the beans within. If the shell will crack when you grasp it firmly, it is ready to harvest.

HOW TO HARVEST AND SAVE THE SEEDS

For those of you who have not watched the video, you can just crumble the beans to let the seeds fall out and the dried outer shell break into small pieces. By either blowing away the dried pieces of the shell or just picking out the dry beans, you can collect and gather the next generation of seeds.

Seeds have three main things that will destroy them and rending them useless for planting.

  • Heat
  • Sunlight
  • Moisture.

If your seeds are exposed to too much of any of these they may become sterile and unable to sprout. I like to keep mine in a dry paper bag for a few days to make sure that the moisture is fully out of them. I then like to store them in a cool, dry, dark place, often in a jar.

If anyone in the United States is really interested in trying to grow some of your own, I can ship some to you for free upon request. I offer this for a few reasons. First, I encourage those already growing their own food. Also, I encourage those who do not already do so to give it a try. Additionally, I think that it helps build our community and blesses others.

Send a message to me on steemit.chat or discord if you are interested with a valid U.S. shipping address. Unfortunately too many laws and restrictions currently prevent me from shipping them elsewhere in the world.

You can also purchase them from Baker Creek Hierloom Seed Company, which I had the pleasure of visiting last year with a few of the @little-peppers. You can check out my post about that trip by clicking here.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-harvested-noodle-bean-seeds



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

I tried growing these a few years ago, and my goats got in and ate the 80' line of these beans I had planted. We don't have goats anymore. I do have some more and will be planting them out next year. I love the idea of a seed swap. I do have some wild fruit tree seeds we harvest and eat almost every year. Fruit like apple, cherry, and plums. All wild. All delicous, with a few exceptions of some very tart apples and cherries, which make great pies, and apple cider, apple cider vinegar. Great post. Resteeming

Yeah, goats are good for that. Those seeds of yours sound cool too. Thanks for making a real comment too. Have a full power upvote.

Thanks @myhomesteaded!

Sweet. I am still trying to figure out the in's and out's of Steem. I appreciate the upvote. Have a good day.

A very thorough account and free seed too... what could be better? It's been an odd summer in UK - as usual - so they probably wouldn't have done well here.

thx for sharing

You're welcome.

This is a cowpea
A type bred for vegetable use
I think this is the first time ive ever seen anyone grow it for a dry bean harvest
In Asia its eaten as a fresh bean the whole pod

We eat it as a fresh bean in the whole pod too.

I was doing a post on saving seeds to plant for next year, in which case you must let the whole bean fully develope and dry.

Sharing for others to learn about this bean and maybe get some seeds from @papa-pepper! I need to do the cattle panels again and get some growing next year.

Those cattle panels sure are versatile, aren't they?

I love them! Long ways they are great for green beans, upright to give more space!

Cattle panels are a gardeners number one item in my book!

I remember you saying something similar on my introduction post 13 months ago.

I used to do a lot more outside gardening, but since the greenhouse came along, it takes most of my time.
I used cattle panels for everything, trellising , compost rings, heck I even held cattle in with them, they are a great multi tasker. right now I have some Muscadine grapes trellising on a few of them! Look out wine time!

Amazing!

Indeed, there is even a smaller brother to them called the hog panel, same idea, just narrower. No need for cutting!

Good post. I often planted peas in the back garden, and only a few weeks ago was harvested, I'm so sorry that I did not immortalize them like @ papa-pepper. I think it can not be put into this steemit. Hopefully i can plant another and can be explored to steemit. thanks for sharing.

Yes, please post about it next time!

I love beans, brown bean soup , we call it "bruine bonen soep" in The Netherlands, dont know what it is called in english.

My wife makes a "Black Bean Soup" that is very delicious!

Translation would be "brown bean soup".

These look similar to the "black-eyed peas" by grandmother used to snap and cook. I'll bet they are tasty!

We should be growing some of those too!

what makes the food incredible? medicinal, taste etc? what climate should they be grown in?

PLUS "Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com" I ♥ it, may I use that line also? @MrsRay

You may use that line as well. Also, the food is a great-tasting one and it produces an incredible amount.

I am Cornholio! (Whoa! Hm heh... that was cool) I need T.P. for my bunghole! Come out with your pants down!

Best... I like it your post...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58098.46
ETH 3134.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38