PLANTS ON THE HOMESTEAD - TRIFOLIATE CITRUSsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading6 years ago

This is the seventh post in a new series, in which @papa-pepper will share about different plants that they plan on growing on the homestead, and why.


Our seventh featured plant is Trifoliate Citrus, which we are really excited about.

TRIFOLIATE CITRUS VIDEO

BACKGROUND

The Trifoliate Citrus (Citrus trifoliata) is a new plant to @papa-pepper that I have only been made aware of in the last month. You may have heard me mention some new friends that we have who enjoy many similar interests, and this plant is another one of the blessings that we have received because of them. They are also the ones who recently gave us our new sheep.

PLANT INFO

Our favorite thing about this particular citrus is that it is cold hardy to zone 6. This means that it can be grown in places like Arkansas, Missouri, and Oklahoma. It can even tolerate some frost and snow!

The plant itself originally comes from Korea and China, and is often referred to as a "bitter orange." While many may not exactly appreciate the taste of this fruit, we have enjoyed a few fresh ones and actually did enjoy them. While it may be sour, it is still a good way to grow some citrus for Vitamin C and other nutritional purposes.

OTHER INFO

If you notice the thorns above, you may consider this plant to be somewhat less beneficial. However, these plants can be grown as an effective hedge. We will be looking into growing some living fences anyway, and edible living fences sounds even better.

There are also some medicinal uses for this plant as well. One of the most common uses of the Trifoliate Citrus is in treating allergic inflammation. Some also use it in treating toothaches and conjunctivitis.

PROPAGATION

This plant is best propagated by seed, and is even considered by some to be potentially invasive. Since each fruit can contain twenty or more seeds, it has incredible reproductive capabilities. If the fruit is not collected, a lot of new seedlings may soon be sprouting under the parent tree.

Another helpful use for this plant when it comes to propagation is to use it as a root stock for other citrus. Since it is cold hardy, other types of citrus fruit grafted onto it can potentially be grown in harsher and colder conditions than those that they would normally survive in.

CLOSING THOUGHTS

To just "happen upon" a citrus fruit that we can grow here in Arkansas was a huge blessing. Most likely, we will end up using it as a food, root stock, living fence and perhaps even a medicine. Also, perhaps we will be able to provide seeds or seedlings to others one day as we continue to propagate, grow, and look for a home-based income opportunities.

Has anyone else ever heard of this plant? Have you ever tried its fruit? Did you know that there was a type of citrus fruit that could grow in this zone?


All photos, video, and writing are original, but some research was done at this website and here..

IN CASE YOU MISSED MY PREVIOUS VIDEOS FROM THIS SERIES

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-trifoliate-citrus



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @malos10


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

I tried to grow a citrus plant some months back. I put a seed into a moist tissue till it germinated and then transfered it to a pot. The seed did grow into a sapling. The pot till this time was in humid condition under a shade. I did a blunder by shifting the sapling into a direct hot sun...Only to find in the Evening the brown dead sapling in the pot. I totally regret my waste of effort and patience for 2 months. I am looking forward this.spring for doing the same with number of citrus seeds. This time i am gonna be cautious.
P.S. Lesson learnt the Hard Way.

You are not the only one who has made such mistakes, but thanks for sharing to help others not make the same mistakes.

posting a very good friend, I really like this post.

Luar biasa nampaknya anda juga suka menanam buahan dan tanaman lain, semoga ada hasilnya.. Upvote and follow me @muchtarudin

It is so interesting what you can grow on your own land. I love the way you do the research on what you are growing and how much they can benefit you and your family. Many people do not understand what all benefits come from various plants. Keep up the great work my friend.

I lot of our nutritional and health issues could be prevented or solved right on our own land, if we would only invest a little effort up front. Good point my friend, and thank you once again.

You are very welcome

I was curious also. When that happens just watch the research happen!
I found a lot of information that was very detailed about the medicinal (both traditional and more recent) uses and the chemical reasoning behind it at 2beingfit.com but there were some warnings too.

Some sites (eg. Webmed.com, and drugs.com) advise not to take a supplement that contains bitter orange (where it is a concentrated product) or to drink the juice if you are already using a stimulant such as caffeine or decongestants or are taking blood pressure meds as it has been linked to heart probs.

I guess it just shows the importance of your decisions in what you eat. If it can make that much difficulty in your health issues then things like this also have potential for great benefits!

The 2beingfit site also has similar info on other common fruits including the fig, which Papa-Pepper has already covered in this series!

I am loving all your adventures on your homestead. Are you completely self sufficient or are you working towards it?

Working to progress farther in that direction.

I wish you all the best. I really wish I could do something similar but unfortunately that is not an option for me at present. Maybe in the future.

Never heard of it... looks interesting and like a tough plant. I like the hedge row idea. It's cute how the little peppers wander in when you are filming.

We live a lot of life together, so those @little-peppers are sure to show up periodically.

I tried eating them when I was 7.

At 47, I'll finally admit they were pretty horrible!

Definately a bugger to maintain

Looks like I'm in for my own adventure with them! I'll have to stop out in OK sometime for a visit.

Good video video.
I like.
but please occasionally ok

good post, always @ papa-pepper success once visit my blog @ papa-pepper my loyal followers and my post nobody upvote and I ask for help @ papa-pepper please help yes

It's a awesome post..... I resteemed it.

Please see my last post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66441.00
ETH 3217.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22