I FINALLY BROKE DOWN AND BOUGHT A REAL ELECTRIC SHEEP SHEARER

in #homesteading6 years ago

Eventually, I decided that it had to be done.


I figured that around here it would be a worthwhile investment. After shearing a few sheep with a small rechargeable set of clippers and trying some with scissors, I decided that it was time to invest in a "real" tool for the job. I wanted to experiment cheaply at first to make sure that I was up for the job and that it was something that I actually wouldn't mind doing. Since you can always hire out the less pleasant jobs, it's good to remember that option. In this case, though, I've got it!

THE REAL DEAL!

Okay, so half shaven sheep are not exactly "in" this year. Sometimes, you just do what you can until you run out of daylight and pick up another day. Or, you realize that you need a better tool for the job and quit wasting your time with whatever you are trying to make work.

While it is true that you can just shear a whole sheep at once and have the wool stay pretty much intact, that's not exactly how I was doing it at first. To spin the wool into yarn you've got to separate it anyway, so I wasn't so concerned about that. Tracking down a pair or real sheep shearers was a little more difficult than I thought it was going to be.

The store I went to happened to be a specific location that did not stock the item I was looking for, so I had to head to another location the next day. These do work a lot better, but I've still got room for improvement. Do you see my glasses in the photo above. One side happens to be missing in that photo. That is because our ram "@jonny-clearwater" happened to kick me in the face when I flipped him over and broke my glasses in the process. Thankfully, it was just the glasses that got it, and not my beautiful face!

Anyway, we've got over half the flock of Jacob's Sheep sheared now and then I've still the three Shetland/Finn Sheep. I try to get one here and there between everything else I've got going on. By switching back and forth between tasks it break up the monotony and keeps things more varied. Soon we hope to learn how to spin wool and make our own yarn, so that will be exciting! We will keep you posted, but these clippers were a great investment in my opinion.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-shears

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Holy smokes I can't believe I'm finally going to get to say this comment that I've been holding onto for years.

I thought Electric Sheep only existed in Android's dreams.

But do androids dream of shearing those electric sheep with electric sheep shears?

Wow! I'm glad that I've given you that opportunity!

Love that book. Never seen that cover art before. It's a nice variant!

steady, a pleasant work, shearing sheep
Success always for you friend @papa-pepper

It is pleasant. Thanks!

cool, it's a very good job @papa-pepper.
but I see that one lamb is a bit funny fur, why not shaving out.

It must be very exciting to spin our own thread, congratulations for shaving the sheep and taking care of the kicks

The half shaven sheep looks stylish and funny though😀. It will be exciting to spin wool, i'm very sure the kids would love it.

We will see. It'll be interesting if we can spin our own wool and then knit our own hats!

nice post

Sorry about your broken glass, the electric sheep shearer will make work much easier and faster.

amazing @papa-pepper, it looks very nice to shave your own sheepskin, this will be a unique job for you, and do not forget to do it carefully, so the results are good.

I will be careful, even more careful! Thanks @ahmadiaja!

You're really a hard worker, I wonder how you get does rams, and sheep down when shearing off their wool..... Must be really stressful huh.

It's good that you are trying to use the cheap alternative, as you put it @papa-pepper. You are in better position to advice people on both, since you have tried both. It's a win-win situation. Wow! That must be one massive kick to knock out your glasses holder. Those sheep wouldn't go down without a fight huh? Haha. Sorry Papa. Well done. Going pretty well i can see. I look forward to the spinning too. You deserve a rest now Papa.

Yeah, I got kicked really hard! I wasn't sure if I was bleeding or wounded or not. The @little-peppers said I was fine, so I just put what was left of my glasses back on and got back to work.

Wow! Really sorry about that sir. Try to check it again please. You are really a strong man.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62915.59
ETH 2542.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63