HOPEFULLY THEY DON'T MIND - FINALLY SHEARING OUR SHETLAND/FINN SHEEP

in #homesteading6 years ago

With the random freezing temperatures, this is hard to gauge.


First off, I'm not an experienced sheep farmer. Never have been. I am still in my first year having sheep, and still in my first season shearing them. While I've worked my way through most of the Jacob's Sheep that we have, I hadn't sheared our Shetland/Finn sheep.

HOPEFULLY THEY DON'T MIND

Some days down here, it has already gotten pretty hot. On other days, it still dipped down into freezing temperatures. With weather like that, it is hard to guess when the "proper" time to shear is. I didn't want my sheep to get too hot in the heat with a big wooly coat on, but I don't want them freezing without any wool either.

On the bright side I can now shear a sheep and end up with one solid fleece. Originally the goal was to just get the wool off. When we process and use it it'll be pulled apart anyway (I think) so it wasn't really that important to me to be able to keep it together. However, since that's kind of the "way people do it," I figured I would give it a go.

Here you can see the two ewes already shaven with the ram, "Buckington," still waiting for his turn. I noticed that the sheep missed one another when I was shearing one, and even though they came back with a "hair cut" the others eagerly welcomed them back into the little flock.

Since we had only seen these sheep with their wool on, we were not sure how big they were underneath. While they certainly are slimmer, they are much darker too. Their wool is originally a dark brown that almost looks black. As it grow out, the sun bleaches it and it turns a lighter color.

While I was at it I sheared "Bonita" our Angora Goat too. These goats are primarily used for their lustrous fiber and they can be sheared twice a year. I'm not sure the last time that she was sheared, but her fiber had already started to mat up and look like big flat dreads, so it may have been a longer time that usual. Now we can keep her on a shearing schedule though.

Learning skills like this are just ones that come with the territory, and personally I enjoy the work. It gives me an opportunity to continue building relationships with our animals and to save the cost of hiring jobs like these out. Plus, now that I know you can make cordage out of wool, I'm even more excited!

In case you missed my post yesterday I've decided to use homemade wool cordage to make hangers for our homegrown birdhouse gourds. Hopefully they will last and work out great for the birds. All I know is that I really like the look of them.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-shearing-the-shetland/finn-sheep

Until next time…

GIF provided by @anzirpasai


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Your posts are awesome man! You rock!

They won't really mind, hahaha. It's like growing fresh hair haha. Like you said, with the fluctuating weather, its hard to decide. Taking them off would actually reveal their true body size, as you have seen.
You are not doing bad Papa, being your first year. It is actually commendable and impressive.
I hope you didn't get a kick this time around Papa. Massive well done.

I hope I don't get kicked again either!

Yes Papa. You won't. You've learned of better ways to hold them. Well done sir.

a very good post. this will be a new knowledge for me about raising sheep. thank you for sharing.

You are a quick study, @papa-pepper. I know some folks who never got the hang of shearing sheep. Perhaps they just didn't have a good rapport with their sheep. I like the darker wool underneath. Let's hope it doesn't get cold again or you will be looking for sweaters for the poor cold sheep! lol

Yeah, the whole hot flash/cold flash thing has been hard to navigate.

Interesting the work you do, over time the experience will improve. Successes

so much fur of sheep ,,, enjoy the success, papa,,, i hope the sheep more and more fur ,,, keep spirit papa,,, a very interesting experience I think ,,, thanks for sharing papa,,,

Your sheep look lovely !
like you told that raising sheep looked very difficult.
I saw a lot of surprises in your post because before now I still think sheep's hair is white, not black. Thanks !

They come in a variety of colors. Check these out! Some even have four horns!

Oh, that is special, far from my imagination
Thank you for your sharing <3

Another wonderful post, infact you are a wonderful homesteading blogger. I will like to ask a question @papa-pepper why did you like sheep?

Many reasons, plus they keep the lawn mowed and fertilize it as they go.

I wonder how you remember all their names @papa-pepper. Well done sir. You are doing great.

Mostly, the @little-peppers remember the names.

Smart children.

so much fur of sheep ,,, enjoy the success, papa,,, i hope the sheep more and more fur ,,, keep spirit papa,,, a very interesting experience I think ,,, thanks for sharing papa,,,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63248.94
ETH 2576.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85