HOMESTEAD HELPERS - SOME THOUGHTS BEFORE YOU GET STARTED

in #homesteading7 years ago

Homesteading can seem like a good idea to many, but there are some things that you should consider ahead of time.


This was something that I considered long before we moved to Arkansas and began to work on our homesteading dream. Recently though, I have appreciated it all the more, so I thought that I would spontaneously shoot a video on it. It’s just me doing a random walk and talk on the situation.

HOMESTEADER HELPERS

BASIC IDEA

Basically, before you move into the middle of nowhere with no one around and get a bunch of animals, you may want to remember that there may be times in the future when you will want to leave for a bit. Maybe vacations, weddings, funerals, steemit meetups, or whatever.

If these trips take more than a day or two, there's a some pretty good chance that you may need someone to watch your animals for you. They may need to be fed, watered, milked, or tended to in some other way. Thankfully for us, we have @bluerthangreen & @allforthegood on the next property over, plus a lot of other great neighbors nearby.

I cover a lot more in the video (and sometimes I just randomly ramble) but your homestead is supposed to be blessing to you, and not a sentence of life without parole. If you are aware of this periodical need ahead of time, it just might help make your life and your homestead a lot more enjoyable once you get there.


SUPER-COOL “HOMESTEADERS UNITE ON STEEMIT” LOGO CRAFTED BY @ALLFORTHEGOOD

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-having-animals-that-need-care-when-you-are-gone



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Great advice even for the people that don't have a huge homestead. If they have crops and/or animals planning ahead for those times needed away will keep you sane :) Even having just one pet, needs planning to take a trip where they couldn't go. Thanks for sharing your wisdom on this.

Thank you for agreeing, and also adding some more thought on the subject as pertaining to even less animals. Excellent point!

You are most welcome. Thought it would be good to add for those not going full force with homesteading yet.

Also, you get a FULL POWER UPVOTE on your comment because you made a real comment pertaining to the post!

Thanks for that @beccadeals!

You're welcome and thank you. You know we are all watching your great posts. For those just getting started homesteading, your knowledge and experience helps a lot. Especially when someone comes across a hurdle of some sorts, they could just search your posts and you may have already come across that and have a solution. Or maybe you could offer advice to someone new to the whole homesteading idea. So thank you again for your great posts. You are not only sharing your work, you are also helping many people with their own.

This is great, I'm very interested in your vlog style of post.

A great video with some informative tips for people considering homesteading

I watch occassionaly with my wife some f the homesteading shows on TV I forget there names but I see some where people have got themselves into it falling in love with the concept but not doing much research and preparation and struggling

As I am getting close to retirement full homesteading is not something I will do but may try to be a bit more self sufficient on the property we bury when I do retire and settle somewhere

I think that every little bit more self-sufficient we can be the less money we need to be spending, which works in our favor. Good idea, as you move forward.

I think so as well not only is it good financially but I think growing yourself you also know it is really organic and natural I don't trust always organic labels

When I was growing up my Mom would go up to northern Wisconsin and us kids would take turns going with her. My Dad always stayed home on the farm with the other kids. He would do something special with us we didn't normally do. Even if it was just going to the A&W drive in for lunch.

Yes animals are always an issue for homesteaders. Always useful to find nearby friends and neighbours that are confident in looking after the animals.

Maybe we'll see a SteemitSitters network for animal sitting one day...

Now that sounds like a great idea!

Mind if I borrow this idea and flesh it out a bit? It has some potential...

(For the record - I'm a professional pet sitter.)

Hi @aunt-deb, glad you like the idea. I'd been looking at it in the context of the homesteader community I'm involved in. Maybe we can share some ideas?

I would love to brainstorm a bit! I can see a lot of areas of 'cross-over' that would benefit everyone.

I'm just going to bed, but I will catch up tomorrow if that is okay?

No rush. I'm on Chicago time, so we have a bit of a gap in zones. Rest well!

UpVoted and follow . Please follow me back.

Its nice you have the possibility to live a close to nature life with your fam! Wish you all the best man

Wow @papa-pepper, you are amazing. Photos and fun activities. image

Help me

@usmanosama

Congratulations @papa-pepper! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Absolutely, its always good to not only plan ahead, but have the help when you need to just get away.

That is right!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65092.40
ETH 3470.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50