New Addition to the Homestead

Okay everyone knows when you have a homestead you start to get animals. As far as our homestead goes I try to have one rule when it comes to animals. My rule is: every animal on the homestead has to be useful. What do I mean by that? Well on our homestead we have chickens. They are useful because they offer meat, eggs, and poop that we use as fertilizers. They also help with bugs here on our homestead. We also have sheep that will give us poop for fertilizer and can also be used for meat. We have been looking into goats as well. With goats they will offer us meat, milk, poop for fertilizer, and we can also use them to clear the under growth in the woods.

So as you can see the animals that we have or looking into will benefit us in some way. But let’s look at reality! I live in a house that consist of myself, two boys, my wife, and three daughters. So as you can see the males are a little out numbered. So needless to say there are times where my thoughts on things may not be heard the way I meant for them to.

So this leads us to my point. Like I said earlier I believe that what ever animal you have should serve a propose. I guess in my wife’s and daughters heads that means we should have a homestead that is a place to rescue all animals. So now we are the proud owners of three new grown roosters. We all ready had six roosters from a group of 26 chickens we received! But our other roosters are not grown yet and my wife and daughters could not see them going to a bad home. So we just had to have them in their minds and as the saying goes happy wife happy life.
IMG_9773.JPG

IMG_9772.JPG
Then this one just takes the cake! My wife hears about this pig that someone had to get rid of. The poor thing was in with a male for a month and then moved into a dog carrier! That’s where the she was left she eat, drank, and slept there for over a month! So my wife just had to save her and on top of that she is probably pregnant! Oh did I tell you it is a pot belly pig! What can a pot belly pig bring to a homestead? They are pets all we are doing is spending money on feed!
IMG_9775.JPG
IMG_9776.JPG
If anyone out their can tell me what benefits they bring I would love to hear them.

Sort:  

Great looking rhode island red rooster! We have a couple here on the farm too. They are extremely hardy and good egg layers. I'm sure your pot belly pig will find plenty of grass and bugs to forage on around the house. I have never owned one but I know pigs will eat just about anything!

Ok first of I just have to say I love your name! I was a Rakkasan! I was with Alpha Battery 3rd Battalion 320th Field Artillery Regiment at Fort Campbell KY! We were the Red Knight Rakkasans! Yes we have the a few rhode island reds, and some black australorp chickens and I don't even know what the white rooster is. As far as the white pig or as the family calls her Bubbles she is really nice and she does like to eat what ever we don't.

Very cool to meet another Rakkasan on here! I was in C TRP, 1-33 Cav from 2006-2009 at Ft. Campbell and in Iraq. I just went camping up in the Ozarks near Fort Leonard Wood, it's beautiful up there. Look forward to seeing updates on your farm!

That is very cool! I was at Campbell from 2003 to 2009! And I live about 60 miles away from Fort Lenard Wood! LOL

Hmm, the only thing that comes to mind for me (aside from @johncalvin and @bobbleheadstead recommendation for little hams) is adding waste to the mulch, garden/compost pile.

I have never had a pig so I am not too sure.
We have only raised chickens, ducks (a long time ago) and a goat.

@originalworks

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @goldendawne. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @ozarkoffgridfam to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

They are rooters by nature and loosen the soil in places you may desire to till . They also provide poop. Truffle hunters? Haha!

I don't know anything about pigs but it seems like you could at least make sausage out of them. Not a lot of it but at least some.

LOL you are right I guess we could make some really little hams!

Try to sell the babies to some other suckers to recoup some feed costs? And little hams are still ham. :)

That is true people do like to buy little baby pot bellies! And little hams do sound nice for a dinner idea!

Great article! I would like to include this post in the next issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter which is a series posted every Sunday that aims to help collect awesome articles and resources like this one! This article will be linked and your username featured if you accept - please let me know if it is alright to include your article as soon as possible! Thank you and have a great day!

Yes that is fine to use this post in your Newsletter. Thank you for even wanting to use it.

Hey there! I just wanted to inform you that your article has been included and linked in the most recent issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter! Please check it out if you have the time! Thank you and have a great day!

But look at her pretty squishy little face!!!!!! Sorry - I'm on your girls' side on this one :)

Yes she does have a pretty squishy face. She is really nice and she loves her belly rubs that we give her. she finds ways to make you love her. I am glad that we have her because she makes my girls happy so I guess thats all that matters.

LOL words of a smart man!

Nice Post
Plz Follow Me

Sell the little ones off for pets to city dwellers:)

That's a good idea. Then they can feel like real homesteaders!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51