Growstuff - Community of Food Gardeners

in #homesteading6 years ago

I like to spend the time around people who are into gardening and farming. Though I am very limited with the farming space. I get by with my container gardening. And love to experiment with different seeds and the herbs. I found many communities that are into sharing gardening progress and growing food.

Growstuff is one such community that is into food gardening.

Image Credit. member name : shiny on Grow Stuff.

What is Growstuff?

Think of grow stuff as a community of gardeners who want to exchange seeds, experience and share their progress. People in this community are from around the world. And they share their experience with others. As of now the forums are not much active. But people do share their progress regularly through journals on the site.

What Problem they are solving?

I think if this community is utilized properly, they can surely help with seed sharing across the world. Though the platform is not matured yet on the seed sharing. I hope they build the platform lot better and allow the people to share seeds and ask for seeds easily. Currently the method for that is through forums. In future I hope they have different interface for the same.

My opinion:

Growstuff type of communities are desperately needed in gardening and homesteading space. I have seen people making small groups on facebook. And sharing their experience and the seeds. It works out for small groups in specific region. But on larger scale there needs to be a better system. For example there needs to be different sites for the user profiles and the seed sharing options. This way people can see the progress of their gardening and also find out how many seeds were shared and how many were properly utilized. It seems like such communities are harder to maintain if you go off the grid.

Check out growstuff community.

What do you think about seed sharing and food growing communities? How do you think platform can do better?

Rydhi
xox

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

Sort:  

You have received an upvote from @livesustainably. I promote and curate content that encourages and educates others in living sustainably.

I also run competitions for those making the world a better place. Check out this weeks reducing plastic competition here

Greetings! I am a minnow exclusive bot that gives a 5X upvote!
I recommend this amazing guide on how to be a steemit rockstar!
I was made by @EarthNation to make Steemit easier and more rewarding for minnows.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64258.95
ETH 3170.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55