"Just When I Thought I Saved The World, I Realized There Was No Crisis" Saturday. A Wonderment Treat From Nature

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Just when you start feeling like T'Challa the Black Panther, you realize your imaginary Wakanda was not under any threat at all. It was your hysterical self that made it all up. That was the story of my Saturday; this post is about sharing it with you.

LRM_EXPORT_20180324_201905.jpg

It had been a busy week on and off of Steem/it, so I decided to cool off a bit and go see my parents just 30 minutes away. Friday evening I checked in. As habit I had walked around the little home to see how mum's garden and the vegetables were faring, and check on the hen and her chicks -- how many she managed to guard off the preying hawk. Four out of five, from the last I visited. Fair enough.

Every(?) African household has this outdoor kitchen -- detached from the main house -- where there's a tripod burner made from steel or clay, and some firewood and other things that are really not fancy enough to stay in the main house, maybe because it has too much soothe or maybe no one will bother to steal them. This is usually the kitchen the household's hens and their chicks would sleep. Ours is not different. Normally they return when it begins to get dark and snuggle up in a corner there, and go out to hustle for food when it's bright the next day.

Fast forward to Saturday (yesterday) while I was cleaning the yard. I noticed the chicks were wandering on their own without their mother. My mum argued that the hen had separated them, but I insisted they were too young to be left by their mother. I kept close eyes on them for about an hour. When the mother didn't meet up with them, I resorted to get proactive, and suggested to my mom we should make a house for the little chicks, since they can't fend for themselves yet, for long. I think they are about six weeks old. With no mother to fight off the hawk, they would be served as meals in little time. With no mother to split the large food chunks for them, they might starve. My mum agreed it was a great idea.

So off to the figurative drawing board I went.

LRM_EXPORT_20180324_201853.jpg

I figured with my zero carpentry skills I will just make a 4-legged wooden cage with 1/2 inch wire mesh around it, to prevent the chicks from going out, and protect them from external preys. As I had no cutting tools I thought it necessary to have them all cut at the market. That meant I had to be definite on how many of what measurement of wood I needed. You can see that from plan above. With that I was off to the wood market just two miles away. We call those "timber markets" in Nigeria.

LRM_EXPORT_20180324_201927.jpg

And then the nails and the wire mesh at the "building materials" market.

LRM_EXPORT_20180324_201859.jpg

Process

Hey! I am not going to bore you with my jaded step-by-step because building it isn't the point of this post, so I made a timelapse video of the whole process. Enjoy.

Total Amount Spent - NGN 2,500 (~5 STEEM)
Time Spent - 3 hours

Plot Twist

Here's it. Something pretty funny (and annoying even) happened just when I rounded up the construction. This is about 6 in the evening when the avian specie usually return to their little corner in this outdoor kitchen. I hadn't seen the chicks for some hours and I was hoping they will all return on their own that evening so I can have them safely put aside. I mean no one deserves to run after four birds except there is the incentive of eating grilled chicken within a few hours. Oh Christmas!

Well, the chicks all came back... but with their mother. Holy heaven! Why did I go through all that stress? For nothing?

The Lesson

Well I sought a lesson, while I am still trying to figure out what I would do with this tiny little house. Here is the whole essence of this post. FYI, I don't have any regret for spending just 5 STEEM and 2 hours when I have a crib I am proud to look at and beat my chest I built it. Ahaha. Here is the lesson:

I guess I was too apprehensive to have noticed that the little chicks did not look distressed, panicky or anxious while they were not with their mother. They were relaxed and calm, which is why my mum suggested the mum had sent them away voluntarily, even when they were so young. I am not trying to propose a psychology of birds, but I have seen chicks who were left behind by their mother or simply got lost. And non of these four little chicks looked anything like that. Looking at it retrospectively, I can say with certainty they knew their mum was okay and around.

Isn't nature wonderful? Let me add a little story to emphasize my point of this post. Lost-and-now-found mother hen has some stray chicks that only recently began to follow her around, at respectable distance, because their mum is no more. They are not ours, so I don't know what happened to their mother. Two of them. So they follow our mother hen to the kitchen home every night, and in the day around the yard. Every now and then in the night you hear the hen chase them away from her fold whenever the foster chicks go uncomfortably close. You know what amazes me about that? Mother hen rather allows her now-adult hen and cock sleep with her and her chicks. She had separated from these ones many weeks ago and they are on their own, but mother hen has her DNA written on them and she still knows. That too baffles me.

Well, that sums my little post. It's Sunday and while I stay immersed in the wonderment of nature, I am still trying to figure what to do with that little DIY house above. I will welcome any suggestions. Thanks for reading, guys. Cheers and have a great new week ahead. I head to my place today, back to work on- and off-line, and that includes helping @curie and team discover amazing authors and posts on the Steem blockchain, and get them rewarded. Keep creating. Keep this place cool.

Cheers!

Sort:  

Such a great story! and I thank @h-earth for leading me here through their fantastic curation. I like to be connected to people who not only talk but prove with their action that world of Nature for them is important and who are ready to learn new things to help to living creatures around!

Image Source

That's lovely. I'm honored to be considered among such respectable group. Thanks so much for reading my post. I'm glad you found value in it. Thank you also, @h-earth.

You have a golden heart. Faith in humanity has been restored. We all know the feeling of being abandon/forsaken and what you want to do to the chicken by giving them comfort and shelter is amazing. Hahaha, at least you have now some experience in carpentry. I think those little chicks will like what you have built for them. Their mom might be spending hours for herself trying to understand life that's why she left those tiny chicks for a while haha

That's an interesting perspective you brought there, Paul. I am super stoked about the "experience." I mean I should update my CV already. Ahaha. I agree mommy hen was having a great time herself and had to send the chicks away :-)

Their mom might be spending hours for herself trying to understand life

Hmmn... I don't have much to say but I pray it finds the meaning she searches for.

Lesson: listen to your mother before you build a house for lost chicks. They might just just be cruisin'.

I should have listened. I had to learn that the very hard way 😁 Thanks for stopping by 😍

Nice bit of work @misterakpan. I like it when I see people who proclaim to have "zero" skills in an area roll up their sleeves and just figure the task out. DIY-orientation in life is a very empowering way of going about things :)

Hey, Dan. Thanks for stopping by. I have always been an admirer of DIY-lifestyle. In fact, that's one thing I admire so much about Americans. One I wish to imbibe more. I am proud the cage came out right :)

Great post - you could maybe just use the cage to protect young plant cuttings from hungry creatures.

That sounds like a brilliant one. I didn't even think of that. Thanks for stopping by :)

49CBB841-0419-478D-972A-ACAD97AB37DC.jpeg

Your post has been featured in this week's earth-centered curation @the-hearth.
Thanks for writing such fantastic and inspiring content!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

I can totally relate. . Its a good thing the mother hen didn't catch you in the process of getting the chicks into the DIY house (I'm sure you know what i mean).
Meanwhile, as an entrepreneur i would suggest you use the DIY house to start a small poultry farm. In that case you can make some profit feom your attempt to save the world

Awesome story

Great post... You have a kind mind. To even think of creating a crib for the chicks.

May God bless you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57621.01
ETH 3094.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32