What To Do With Yellow Jackets ~ Are They in the Garden? OUCH! 📷 [Video inside]

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Yellow Jackets In The Garden - OUCH!


Believe it or not, these painful creatures can be very beneficial if you allow them to do their work undisturbed. They are great at searching out, killing and eating harmful worms that would destroy your tomato plants and cabbage plants. Yes, if they decide to build their nest in an area that could pose a danger to children or pets, they need to be dealt with but if not, they can be a strong ally in defending your garden!

ENJOY THE VIDEO AND RESTEEM PLEASE!!


resteem.jpg
Visit Us Online: http://AnAmericanHomestead.com


Sort:  

Upvoted and resteemed.

I'm going to come back to this, I have a chemical free way to repel them.

I just have to write the post.

https://steemit.com/homesteading/@theblindsquirl/getting-rid-of-wasps-and-hornets-without-chemicals

Sorry it took so long, I had to fire up the old netbook and it takes a while for the boiler to come up to temp.

you did not use a blow torch to fire that up did you ? ;)

I enjoy the different perspective on an insect considered by most to be a nuisance.....

I'm not a big fan of yellow jackets, but you've made me reconsider.

LOL totally! Easy to hate, hard to love.

No yellow jackets around but plenty of daddy long legs. They seem to show up IN my house a lot in the spring. I told them the aphids were outside but they don't listen.

If you did have to kill a nest you could come back later and pour melted aluminum down the hole. There is a guy on Youtube that does that with ant hills and some of his creations have been displayed in museums. To my knowledge nobody has done the same with yellow jackets.

I have seen that. It's pretty cool!

Zac, what about wasps? I seem to have those around more than anything. Do they have similar benefits?

I use the dawn treatment. 1/4 or so dish detergent to a spray bottle. Bloby spray. What to hit them with a soaking spray. Get the wings wet and cover the body. One hit for a yellow jacket. 2 3 for a black hornet. Don't kill the segmented vatieties they are our friends.

nice video, you are so right-we often go by first instinct and destroy everything that seem soooo dangerous...let them live and work for you, right!

Luckily we don't have very many but we still have some where I live. I was moving a wood pile and really got nailed for disturbing a nest. Got quite a few stings before getting away. I never saw the nest and they were on me before I knew it. The worst is when you are mowing and run over a nest. I have had to bail off the mower and run before. Not funny when it happens but funny now thinking about it. Thanks for sharing!

Wow! I did not know this about yellow jackets! Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57776.16
ETH 3060.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35