Hibiscus Rosella

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Imgur

It is hot in San Diego - especially for the end of October. We have had weeks of temperatures ranging between 90 and 105 degrees Fahrenheit (32 to 40 degree Celsius). Many of us are a bit tired of that and would like some rain and temps around 80 or so.

The plants are screaming at me for water. They are drooping and looking all pathetic trying to convince me to take better care of them.

Not so lady Rosella. She is loving it!! For month now, she has been hanging around. Growing, yes, but a bit slowly. Not really liking it too much right next to the Ladies of the Night - the Dragon fruit flowers who love to show off their beauty.

Imgur

They are pretty, right? And they really like to dazzle you with their beauty.

Imgur

See how they snuck into this post about Miss Rosella? That is how they are. But, we forgive them. All their splendor only lasts one night - maybe two. They need to get everyones attention fast!!

Back to Miss Rosella.

Imgur

At the beginning of the heat wave, she was reaching barely the middle cross piece of the dragon fruit cage. No flowers were anywhere to be seen. Look at her now - reaching up to the sky.

And look at my sweet Hibiscus Rosella.

Imgur

Buds and flowers all over the place!!

Bloom, baby, bloom!!! When those flowers are done, the buds shrivel up and are ready to be harvested for tea after a few days. The flower buds are called the calyx -or calyxes for more than one. But who cares about complicated words like that. Shriveled up spend flower is what you want for your tea.

I always knew that tea as Hibiscus tea, but it has many names in different countries and cultures. If you are interested, Wikipedia has lots to say

One thing I didn't know that the stem is used to make bast. Now, as a child, I made lots of crafts involving bast. But I had no idea that it was the stem of the plant which flowers made the dark red brew we drank at dinner time.

Oh, that tea! When I had my store, many of my Mexican customers bought the flowers to use as a rinse for their hair. Apparently, it makes dark hair shine really nicely.

Imgur

Pretty useful plant, right? Beauty from the flower and later tea. Fiber from the stem. But what about the leaves?

I am glad you asked. The leaves are not only edible, they are delicious and nutritious. And soon, you will see a recipe using the leaves of this amazing plant.

This is the first year I am growing Hibiscus Rosella and wasn't sure if our climate was warm enough for it to thrive. I wanted it for the tea and had no idea that the leaves are also edible and are the main crop in many countries. Growing a garden is so much fun and learning how to use every part of a plant is even better!

This year, it is certainly warm enough for the Hibiscus Rosella to thrive. Let's hope it turns out to be a perennial plant for me. If it won't survive the winter - I am saving seeds and will get some plants started early next year!

Sort:  

Thank you so much! We are going to learn together! do you have the hibiscus rosella?

I like adding dried hibiscus to tisane or to brews because I enjoy the taste. My mother in law does this hibiscus and rum mix, where she freezes it and stirs it up, so it's granular, like a slush drink, and oh so delicious. I think she adds honey to sweaten it.

That sounds really interesting!! I don't drink, but my son likes rum. I have to tell him about it!

Oh, if he likes rum, he's going to like this :p

Great write up! I love Hibiscus tea, probably one of the most delicious natural drinks I've ever had. In Jamaica we call it sorrel. Good to see you spread the word about it. Hopefully one day people will see it for its many benefits!

Thank you! It is funny because I am growing sorrel as well. But here it is a green or variegated small leafy cluster. it has a bit of a sour taste - wonder if the hibiscus is named after that.....

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.
Qurator is proudly supported by @reggaemuffin, vote for him as a witness here.

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57340.70
ETH 3072.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37