I Am the Crazy Oeuf Lady

in #homesteading6 years ago

I Now Get More Eggs Than My Eggpron Will Hold!

And why am I crazy? Well there's a few reasons, but in this case it is because I don't even eat eggs. What the hell am I doing with all of these chickens and all of these ouefs?

IMG_5920.jpg

They are so pretty though...

IMG_5917.JPG

And they feed my family and neighbours.

Today is Wash the Ouefs Day

When they start piling up and I've procrastinated for too long, it's time to wash the eggs and refrigerate them. The spring time is the worst for dirty eggs, the ground is so wet and of course if you have chickens you'll know that they basically take turns laying in the same spot all through the morning, many dirty feet going on and off the nest.

Image Source

IMG_5989.JPG

IMG_5990.JPG

I've read that this is only a North American practice, the washing and refrigeration of eggs. In other countries, the eggs are never washed, there's always a bit of mud, feather or straw with the eggs, and of course they are left on the counter.

The reason we have to refrigerate the eggs is because the washing takes off a protective coat which naturally preserves the egg. People in the West are unused to seeing "dirty" eggs, we're used to those shining grocery store ones and I don't want to traumatize my neighbours so I wash em up.

IMG_5992.JPG

Chicken Cannibals

With getting so many eggs a day, the girls get a daily treat of hard boiled eggs (and always save leftovers for the crows). The shell is so good for them too, gives them their much needed calcium, and saves us money because we don't have to buy them oyster shells to eat.

IMG_5994.JPG

I gave them quite a few today, so no rugby matches, there was enough for everyone to share.

IMG_5996.JPG

IMG_5999.JPG

Uh Oh I think I sense @papacrusher coming to scissor kick his way in to get some of that hard boiled goodness ;)

IMG_6004.JPG

"He who we shalt not name."

The crows never come to eat their eggs until I've gone back inside.

They have far too much dignity to be witnessed accepting a hand out from a human...

IMG_6012.JPG

I took a couple pics from inside the house, looks like the #chickenbitchez didn't leave the crows much on the driveway today, just shells. I always try and throw a few pretty far, and off to the side near the bushes for the crows, they find them eventually.

IMG_6013.JPG

Pretty Things

IMG_6006.JPG

Ok, so a fly is not exactly pretty, but it's the first one I've seen in months! I'll be sick of them soon I know, yet this is another small victory towards spring.

IMG_6015.JPG

Orchid is still in Bloom.

IMG_6016.JPG

The Rosemary I started last Fall.

IMG_6007.JPG

Some flowers @hendrix22 got me :) What a vibrant carnation hey?

IMG_6008.JPG

IMG_6011.JPG

And Lastly, Little Edgar Feeling Right At Home

IMG_6014.JPG

Photo on 2018-04-05 at 7.23 PM #3.jpg

Have a Great Friday Night Everyone, this Crazy Ouef Lady is Out!

Sort:  

You DON'T eat eggs?! What? Oh heavens, I love my chicken's eggs. So good. I guess they are not for everyone.

Yes North America over refrigerates everything. I remember in the 90s I live in Paris during University and it was wonderful how milk, eggs, were just on counters in the marche's and bread was just out no wrappings or plastic.

Also American milk is SO huge and of course we can't get raw milk and our half and half and such are usually seen as pretty odd to the European sensibility.

I'm so happy your kitty is so happy in his new place. Is his tummy full of mice? ;)

I have ground my eggshells in an old coffee grinder for my chickens, but never gave them eggs as I always heard it would make them peck their own eggs, and once they start that it's hard to break them of it. But, that must not be true, as maybe because you are giving them what they need they don't think to do it to their own eggs?

I keep meaning to start a little meal worm farm for my hens, they love those things and they are pricey at the shops.

Enjoy your Sunday.

Ooh yes little Edgar's tummy is full of mice haha, she's a wicked hunter!

I wish I could eat eggs, and every now and again I'll try them just to see if my body has changed, sometimes I get off lucky but then I'll have a really bad experience, I haven't tried for a year now. Sooon haahaha!

I have heard that too about the eggs, I read that as long as they are cooked then it's no problem. And mine have never tried to eat their own eggs from the nesting boxes, so all good!

Mmm your hennies will love those worms! I know our girls can't wait for the bug treats in the summer that the boys find for them, they even found a little snake last year and fed it to the girls xo What would the world be without little boys eh?

So many colors. Is colors changes as per season or chicken to chicken.

Each chicken lays a different colour <3 :) The green and pink ones come from our "Easter Egger" chickens <3

Edgar's jellybean paws, oh my <3
You should make yorkshire puddings with the extra zillion eggs!!! Omg I love those...drool
I am missing my eggs!! Gah, they would have been laying like crazy right now:(
Ok, ok shakes it off I love baby rosemary and hello pretty flowers! Awwww @hendrix22 <3

Your poor girls :'( I'm so sorry Karen.. :'( :'(

Blah, its ok. Sorry for being a downer lol!! I love your #chickenbitches <3 <3 <3

Interesting about the eggs not being washed in some countries and being left on the counter.

Your flower pictures are beautiful!

yay to seeing a fly. I guess that is a positive way to look at those nasty bugs! I usually don't like seeing them when they sneak in a window, but if I do see one, I'll remember that. Spring is closer!

ps. I tagged you in my DC trip post. So you can take a peek at it when you have a chance!

Oooh awesome, awesome!! Going to see it now Anna!

Wjen ee can't get eggs from our friend. We pay 2.50 euro a half dozen just under 4 CDs. Thanks for clearing up why you put your egges in the fridge. We never do here but they don't seem to go off even when they are washed. And sometimes they can be around for over a week or two. Curious? 😎❤

An unwashed egg can last for 6 months or more!

Ye I believe they sometimes do, in our house too lol😎

I cant wait for an Ouef..so tired of the crappy ones here. soon soon soon..cant wait. xx ps. make sure my fridge is full of em once I get there

I will, promise, promise!!!

Fishy got rid of our chickens yesterday, we are taking a year off. We have too much to do, have to get the other property up and running before winter. No rooster this morning, first time in ten+ years... it was nice!

Oooh WOWOWWW!! That would be such a huge change...good luck with your transition!! xxoxxo

I am pretty excited, really. We have some fun plans for the summer, and it will be less work and stress meaning more enjoyment of the fun stuff.

I know that because my duck have a same behavior :D lol @lyndsaybowes

The eggs are totally beautiful ey!

And Edgar is damn gorgeous.

I want to kiss him on the top of his head!

xxx

You're right. Only in North America do they wash eggs and refrigerate them. Your eggs don't look that dirty. I guess folks in North America have been sissified! Love the photos of the flowers especially the carnation! It is a beauty. Happy to see Edgar is feeling right at home!

Ba hahahaa! Sissified is RIGHT! Just like how many pesticides we will use to not have any bugs on our food, but we'd rather eat poison. I was shocked how many bugs are usually on food when we started growing, now I'm happy for them!

I like bugs! What would veggies from the garden be without bugs? LOL Extra protein anyone?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63149.00
ETH 3156.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85