Homestead Happiness Is ...Getting To See The Fruits Of Your Labor

Happiness is within the eye of the beholder. For me, homestead happiness comes in many different things, but one really stands out among the rest. My homestead happiness comes from the plants and animals that we raise on our homestead.

My happiness stems from being able to watching things grow. I see the end result as a reflection of myself and all the hard work that was put into the plants/animals success. Working the soil, planting, weeding, and harvesting or working with animals is something that I find enjoyment in. It can be hard work and there are days were you think to yourself, “I really do not want to weed today” or “I will get to the garden tomorrow,” but it is necessary to its success. Without putting the time into projects, they are destined to fail or not produce well. Without the necessary upkeep, any time that would have been put into the project would just be wasted.

IMG_1225.JPG

Putting the work into projects, like a garden, makes one enjoy the successes they reap. When I sit back and look down at my dinner plate and see all the food that we have grown, it makes the meal just that much more enjoyable and taste that much better. I have the satisfaction of knowing where the food came from, and I know that it was raised in a natural/organic way. Also, something about getting to watch a seed grow and mature gives one a sense of pride in their work.

IMG_1446.JPG

While it often takes many, many hours of cultivation, sweat, and work every year, I would not want it any other way. Like I said, while there are many things that bring me happiness on the homestead, watching all of the plants growing in the garden and being able to see the results of all the time/hard work is what brings me the most happiness on my homestead.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

I appreciate your hard work and the reaping of your rewards. I like to grow things. I enjoy cooking my own food. So, I do have some ideas of what you are going through. I'd cook what little I grew and savor the work of my labor with every bite. Have a great day. Aloha!

Thanks for your kind words! I think that when we put so much effort into growing our food, it tastes better. I hope that you have a good day as well!

No matter about the hard work...that pays off in season. Those dinners! They cannot be bought or reproduced. Every year the produce is different and the most tasty meals of the year can be enjoyed.

But when midwinter comes around what are you longing for? Starting seeds and making a garden plan.

Even though the hard work and payoff comes in season, each year as winter becomes too much, I dream of the next garden and how it will be laid out and what will grow and how we will distribute it.

Absolutely! Nothing bought from the store will taste as good as homegrown. During the winter months, we also really get excited as Spring starts getting closer.

Love it! I feel exactly the same way. Feels so good.

Thanks! I know I would not want it any other way.

That's a great post. And you are so right about having to follow through. So often people abandon things just before they could have succeeded.

Thank you! I think by putting in the effort, we appreciate the result that much more. I do not what to look back and think about how it things, like a garden, could have flourished if the time would have been put in.

I admire all who live this lifestyle and can imagine it would be so satisfying. I've finally got an opportunity to work on my friend's homestead once a week and the work is hard yet fulfilling. Somehow doing work that doesn't require one to use the brain too much seems very healing. Probably because we overuse it all the time in our society. I appreciate this post about the simple happiness that comes from watching things grow and being able to nurture them. Following you now, looking forward to seeing more :)

Thank you for the comment! I think that those who get a chance to try this lifestyle, will find that they enjoy some part of it. I like just being able to sit back and look at all that I have completed because it gives me the sense of self-accomplsihment and pride.

once can learn new things by watching how a plant grows from one year to the next depending on weather changes. good luck and thanks for sharing

Thank you! I like trying new things when growing different plants because I will be able to improve my garden and my skills which results in more productive gardens in the future.

improving skills and gardens is always a good thing :) I'm the same way

I agree: growth can be such a beautiful change. Especially if what you grow is good for you. There are so many gradual changes around us that we like to ignore: how the color of things fades out in the sun, how machines break down and need to be fixed, how your memory cache gets filled up with cookies and other useless junk. Compared to all this, watching plants grow is a sheer joy.

I also like how I can look at the plants I see all of my hard work pay off. It makes dinner that much more enjoyable!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62856.64
ETH 2425.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67