Homesteading Bucket List

Just the other day I read @goldendawne’s “Homestead & Gardening Bucket List” and it got me thinking about my own list! I’ve always loved the idea of having a bucket list and used to meticulously add meaningful and adventurous ideas to an actual list I kept in a special notebook! I never thought of doing the same with my homesteading goals - I think it will be fun to design my dream homestead and imagine the possibilities! So let’s try it!


Pond Pool

I’ve always dreamed of having a pond pool! What is a pond pool? It’s exactly what is sounds like - a natural, pond inspired pool that is based on the principle of harmonious coexistence. It has plants and fish and clear, clean water. It is a mini, contained ecosystem where the swimming area can be separate from the “regeneration zone,” where plants filter the water and fish provide the nutrients that the plants need to survive!


Food Forest

Yes, a food forest - a wild and natural looking landscape that has a method to its’ madness! I’ve never liked the look of hyper organized gardens… rows and rows of the same crop. Heck, I don’t even like the look of planted forests that are in rows. I like the wildness, the raw beauty, the naturalness of… well, a natural forest. So I’ve always wanted a lucrative and fruitful forest that is both meticulously cultivated yet self sustaining.


Eco Hobbit Home

I invite you to witness the thoughts and desires of my inner nerd - a eco-friendly hobbit home! I love how natural these homes look hidden underground and with plants growing across the roof. It takes less space from wildlife and foliage which is better both aesthetically and sustainably. Companies like GreenMagicHomes are an inspiration!


“Hippie Commune”

“Hippie commune” is the best phrase I could find to articulate my thoughts about this. I would love to live in a community that does not just adopt the principles of sustainability and coexistence with nature, but is founded upon it! I would love to take an undeveloped town and create a movement, an activist example/ experiment, out of it.


Modern Comforts

Many people mistake a “natural” way of life with the word primitive. Why give up the comforts of modern day society to regress back in time, they may ask. Good point - I like modern day comforts as well. But we are a smart species (generally speaking) and I think we can find/invent really cool ways to keep these “luxuries” while maintaining sustainability! This can mean something as simple as solar/wind/water powered appliances to hyper modern (but still zero waste) living!


Some Specifics

I would like a small and manageable orchard, to adopt only rescued animals/livestock, maybe have a cool treehouse for a guest house, a large glass greenhouse, a root cellar… doesn’t it sound like paradise?!

I think I’ll get there someday. Maybe not as extravagantly as I can imagine, but I’m determined to work my hardest.


Photography from Pinterest.


Join the SteemitHomesteaders.Slack community today!


Proud passenger of the Steemit EcoTrain!

Click here to see what’s trending on the EcoTrain!

Sort:  

Hopefully your homestead will be as green as these ideas! We live in the high desert in wyoming so it is not as green but we would love to have an apple orchard some day.

Love this. I may have to do my bucket list soon...but I fear it'll be so long I'll crash the Steemit servers! Hahaha.

BTW, @kiaraantonoviche, how do I get into the Steemit Homesteaders Slack? I tried to join but I must be invited...? Thanks!

The invitation link for Slack is right above the logo in the footer of my article! It should work... try clicking this link! https://join.slack.com/t/steemithomesteaders/shared_invite/MjE0NTcyMDc3OTg5LTE1MDA0MDM4MTgtMDdkZDMwYTBmOQ

I really like the swimming pond. Its a lovely idea and I really like to have some sort of waterfall with an integrated aquaponics system. I would also love to have a tree-house :] @OriginalWorks Thanks for sharing your bucket list.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @kiaraantonoviche to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment!

For more information, Click Here!

Sounds like a divers bucket list. Do you have any idea how much land you'll need? Could you potentially get these things done on WRA? That is if you decide to move there permanently one day.

I could definitely do all of these on WRA - it's approx. 100 acres though certain sections belong specifically to certain family members. These are all very far in the future things however so I have plenty of time to figure it out :)

That is exactly what I did before I took the plunge and moved off grid. I filled a notebook with ideas. No matter how wacky and whittled it down from there. I wanted to live in a berm house for sure. I've actually made a lot of the things on my list happen and continue to work on it. I think it's a fabulous idea.

BTW Upvoting and Resteeming! Great post. Thanks for sharing.

Welcome to my Hobbit House. Love your bucket list!

I totally agree with you, just because we ar being environmentally responsibe, doesn't mean we have to give up our comforts. I would love to have a big hobbit home in the food forest nurtured by the beautiful coy pond!

Pond Pool sounds a lot like aquaponics, hmm. Nice bucket list, thanks for posting.

thank you for the mention @kiaraantonoviche
So glad you enjoyed my post and decided to share your bucket list!

I love the premise of the "hippie commune" and how you say "community that does not just adopt the principles of sustainability and coexistence with nature, but is founded upon it! " <--- well said!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48