How I Planted Carrot Seeds In One Of The Low Tunnels

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

image

   I have had some trouble in the past growing carrots. Through trial and error I found what works for me. Making sure the ground is loose and not compact also the soil should drain well are probably the two most important, in my opinion. If the carrot is siting in water in the ground it will rot and if the earth is to compact the carrots will end up a lot shorter then you expected.... You can see how I made these garden beds here.

   Getting carrot seeds to germinate can be tricky. They don't like the heat so you should plant the seeds in cooler weather. Optimum soil temperature for germination is 55 to 75 °F. By using these low tunnels there is no problem getting to the optimum temperature for this time of year in NC. The low tunnels also keep Jack Frost off at night if he decides to come around.


   First I put 2 inches of compost on the garden bed. The compose will be the only fertilizer these carrots will get. Using my Hori Hori I put rows in the compost about 3-4 inches apart.


   The Hori Hori is just over 13 inches long if that helps for perspective.


   Carrot seeds are very small and can be easily over sown. Sowing carrot seeds by hand takes patience. You don't want to waist seed and if there is to many seed in one spot they wont grow well. I try to soot for 2 carrot seeds ever inch. If they both germinate it is easy to reach in and thin one.


   After the seeds have been sown I put a thin layer of fine compost on them. About 1/8 of an inch thick. If you plant carrot seeds to deep they will have trouble shooting up there sprout.


   The last step was to water them in real well and close up the low tunnel.  I will keep yall up to date on the progress of the carrots as they get older


THANK YOU FOR POPPING BY!!


Follow Me At: @hopfarmnc

https://www.facebook.com/HOPFarmNC/

https://www.hopfarmnc.com/

[Directory of Steemit Posts](https://sotall.org) [Community Forums](https://sotall.org/communities/index.php)
[![Homesteaders Online]()](http://www.homesteaders-online.com)
Sort:  

Lovely tutorial! I am slightly envious that you are getting to sow cold crops, I am still at least a month out from that lovely bit of labor. However, I do get to start some seeds and put some greens in my greenhouse, so I suppose that will be a bit of a consolation.

Also, I love your Hori Hori! It looks like such a handy tool:o)

Thank you @generikat. It'll be here before you know it. I'm really starting to like the hori hori also

Very helpful. I always have trouble with my carrots. I didn’t realize they like to germinate in cooler temps. Thanks.

I have tried three times without success to grow carrots, I think the problem was the soil not being loose enough, among other things. I hope you get a nice crop, thank you for the tips, maybe I'll give it another try :)

Thank you for the comment @veroko. Don't give up you'll figure it out.

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 3.01% upvote!
I was summoned by hopfarmnc. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish…
woosh


P.S. If you or anyone you know has been a victim of @grumpycat please know that he has been harming people throughout Sōsharumedia (ソーシャルメディア). Stealing the service that I (and other bots) have provided them and hiding behind a facade of stopping bid bot abuse which he clearly has no interest in.
Sneaky Ninja is a very responsible bot, working directly with steemcleaners, actively pursuing spam and abuse on our platform. If you would like to see what steps Sneaky Ninja has taken to fight bid bot abuse see this post and this post. Also know that I am working daily on other solutions.
If you would like to know my personal take on bid bot abuse and why I do not agree with the 3.5 day rule, see this post

Grumpycat is a villain that must be stopped to protect our freedoms here on steemit!

resist grumpycat
There is a resistance that has formed to counter his tyranny.

If you would like to take an active role in stopping this menace and helping other victims like yourself...
Learn More Here
Kusari-Profile-small.jpg

I have also summoned my love, Kusari to offer some limited help to victims like you.
See Here

Congratulations! This post has been added to our growing directory of Steemit post for the Homesteading/Survival communities. If you haven't done so already, you can claim your badge along with the code to add to your posts to let the world know you have chosen to help others Survive, Thrive and be Prepared! Click here to get the code

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63780.55
ETH 2618.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82