Sustainable Hobby Farm: Is This The "RURBAN" Homesteading Road I Want To Take?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

hf2.png

Image Source


What Is A Hobby Farm Versus Homesteading?


According to thefreedictionary website, a hobby farmer is as follows:

a person who runs a farm as a hobby rather than a means of making a living

And a homesteader is as follows:

  1. A house, especially a farmhouse, with adjoining buildings and land.
  2. Law Property qualifying as a person's home under certain laws, such as laws providing tax abatements and exemptions, survivorship rights for spouse and children, and immunity from claims of creditors.
  3. Land claimed by a settler or squatter, especially under the Homestead Act.
  4. The place where one's home is.

So reading both of these definitions, I fall into both categories.
I don't necessarily want to sell goods at the end of the road or at local farmer's markets; I want enough food in the garden every year to be able to preserve it to feed myself and my husband (as well as give away some to family members). So by no means would me having a "hobby farm" be for more than sustainability of our lives. Income from the "garden"? Extra money and income is always appreciated, but taht's not what my main goal or mission is right now.

Hobby farms are usually more than just a garden, but not quite a full-fledged farm; while a hobby farm has an operation, workers (the land owners mainly) the size and what you do to keep the "farm/garden" operating is downsized to fit your property. Hobby farms can not only supplement your food and income but can provide satisfaction of running your own agricultural operation and providing for your family.

The picture above shows a small (less than 1/3 of an acre of land) and we live on a 1/3 of an acre parcel; so we're spot on with the size. The picture lists the hobby farm as being both urban and suburban; but we are more in between urban/suburban/rural, so I call it RURBAN.

Livestock


As of yet, we do not have livestock. Dealing with an issue (neighborly thing, if you know what I mean), but I do plan on getting some chickens (for eggs and eventually broilers) and I'd like to get a goat again. I can use the milk for making cheese; as I am becoming more adventurous with my cheese-making skills, and for homemade soap recipes. I had come across a goat milk soap recipe recently and it sounded almost decadent.

And some day I'd like to add rabbits. My husband loves rabbit meat, and I am fond of it too; so added a few (or more) to the inventory is not out of the question. I raised rabbits in the past and am vaguely familiar with their needs and hutch requirements, so I am up for the little furry critters.


Water Collection System


Yes I have that one partially covered. I have the supplies (barrels with screw on lids, spicket and other minor plumbing pieces, an old window screen and adapter, etc), I just need the easiest directions to make this a reality and completed task.


What I Do On My Land


Image Source
I have a greenhouse but nowhere near the size of the one in this picture. But I do have plans to purchase a more permanent one than I have; and get this... my husband is on board with it! That doubles the pleasure of having a larger greenhouse.

_____________________

Image Source

Next gardening season I will be adding many new container styles to my garden. I learned this past growing season about space allocations and how to change a few things around to get the most out of my small parcel. I am real excited to start the container garden and expand my herb garden out front.



I would love to call this picture (below) my own with a few tweaks to the set up. But looking at the pole beans climbing in the background and the wooden container boxes with the hoops in the foreground, I can start visualizing some different ways to grow greens and herbs to extend my growing season later next year.

hf4.jpg

Image Source


Image Source

I actually have been researching the tri-pod set up for growing certain plants. On my morning walks lately I have been looking for branches of the right length and thickness to add to my collection so I can start "shaving" the bark off and prepping for next spring to make my own.

I will be using ones similar to this as a guide to make my own. I know my husband will say, "Just go buy some wood to make them... why bother collecting branches..." To which I say, "no, this is how I want my garden to be."


So my plan for next year is to expand my rurban hobby farm and farmstead/homestead making it the most productive garden I have ever had.

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

Sort:  

I land in both categories. I have out buildings, my property is larger than an acre, but my house is my home. LOL love that garden too. it is just so organized, and weed free. LOL

Yeah, the garden picture is so not for real! Like when you go house hunting and everything is in its place. No clutter. No nothing. Just perfect!
No weeds, every row just perfect. Pffttt... yeah

I have been struggling with coming up with the right 'label' for my place too, which also encompasses my idealogy & goals. Rurban may just catch on, lol.
I also prefer a more rustic/natural look to the garden (and there are plenty of pinterest ideas which support my artistic vision, if only I could create them IRL). I'm tempted to hunt down some non-invasive bamboo.

Have you thought of having other birds such as quail? (Your neighbours woudn't even know they were there ;) ) Or if you were feeling a touch pernickety you could try peacocks - those suckers are noisy!

My son raised peacocks before... they ARE LOUD!! yeah the neighbor would love me to pieces!

Yeah, rurban just stuck in my head... along with the hobby farm venture. Not really a hobby, but the set up is.

Agreed about the rustic/homemade statement. I like to work with my hand and create. Plus the satisfaction and fulfillment I get when I finish a craft or task is so rewarding.

I forgot in my first comment to mention your bamboo. I would love to have some around here. I know you can grow it zones 3-9 (I am in 6b) but I haven't had a chance to do much research on the conditions for growing and then the winter time.

Here at the Splattstoesser house we have been working on the same thing. Went currently growing 4 apple trees (from seed) an apricot (from seed) thornless blackberries aka Marianberries raspberries, blueberries. We r goin to take the leap this spring and get 4 chickens. The tough part is keeping our 2 labs from chasing them around and hurrassing them.
Rurban I like it!!

lol- yeah we are RURBAN-ites... gotta love it!

Oh take the leap with the chickens. I really miss the rooster int he morning, miss collecting (and eating) the fresh eggs. I would go out there to feed them and I'd talk to them... sometimes they'd cackle back to me.

Thornless blackberries? Sounds like a good post! lol
I never knew they had the name Marianberries/raspberries. I learned something today!

I forgot to serarate the Marionberries and raspberries my bad. Ya these thornless blackberries get huge.
2EACED57-AEA4-411B-986D-A5BC22AD394A.jpeg
These are the smaller ones but still big. You have to wait for them to basically fall off when you slightly touch them or they are really tart.

Oh wow! Those are real cool. Are they indigenous to your area?

I’m not sure. I know my mom has some that she got from her mom. So my grandma said she got her’s in the mountain s near Ogden UT hopefully you follow me. Lol.

lol- yes I follow you already!
Interesting that your berry plants have a history of being handed down from generation to generation.

Great post. You can do so much without livestock and productive gardens easily make up for it. Though, as you know with my lot, there's nothing like having a few animals. Great tip with the plant space allocation thing - it's something im still learning about too.

Same here. Always learning new techniques and possibilities for containers

YES. I want to try and do more container stuff next year too, and perhaps move some of my growing into my driveway too where containers would be ideal. I think the neighbours are already used to my eccentricity so they probably won't blink an eye about a cucumber arch over the car.

lol- eccentricity? Yeah, my neighbor is slowing adapting to me too.

I really am excited to start more containers and see the outcome next year. My mind is whirling with container activity

I like that term, rurban. Sounds like the place we were leading to own before we had to move back to town. An acre for chickens, rabbits and planting. Even a wooded part way in the back I might have raised a pig or two in. All those country comforts (land, well, and septic tank) on a road with dozens of houses a couple hundred feet apart.

Exactly! Sounds like there are more rurban-ites than I ever realized

What a GREAT article! I do much of the same, however I raise chickens, rabbits and quail...all in the city, it's great!

If you are having "neighbor issues" you may want to look into quail...they are a great, small, and quiet alternative to chickens!

Quail meat is very tasty and their eggs are extremely nutrient rich, despite their small size. Look up "quail egg benefits" online and be prepared for the slew of information out there, it's incredible!

Granted, they are small birds, and it takes 4 quail eggs to equal 1 chicken egg; however, they are a wonderful addition to any homestead!

When we lived in Macomb County and my son was still at home (junior high age) we had chickens. No ordinance in that city so we were good.
No ordinance here, but the neighbor thing is concerning.

You are the second person posting here to mention quail. I may have to really consider that option. I have eaten quail eggs before, someone brought them to a family gathering years ago as hard-boiled (deviled eggs) and they WERE EXCELLENT!

Im looking forward to seeing it grow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60955.99
ETH 2884.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63