You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sustainable Hobby Farm: Is This The "RURBAN" Homesteading Road I Want To Take?

in #homesteading7 years ago

I have been struggling with coming up with the right 'label' for my place too, which also encompasses my idealogy & goals. Rurban may just catch on, lol.
I also prefer a more rustic/natural look to the garden (and there are plenty of pinterest ideas which support my artistic vision, if only I could create them IRL). I'm tempted to hunt down some non-invasive bamboo.

Have you thought of having other birds such as quail? (Your neighbours woudn't even know they were there ;) ) Or if you were feeling a touch pernickety you could try peacocks - those suckers are noisy!

Sort:  

My son raised peacocks before... they ARE LOUD!! yeah the neighbor would love me to pieces!

Yeah, rurban just stuck in my head... along with the hobby farm venture. Not really a hobby, but the set up is.

Agreed about the rustic/homemade statement. I like to work with my hand and create. Plus the satisfaction and fulfillment I get when I finish a craft or task is so rewarding.

I forgot in my first comment to mention your bamboo. I would love to have some around here. I know you can grow it zones 3-9 (I am in 6b) but I haven't had a chance to do much research on the conditions for growing and then the winter time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68921.34
ETH 3929.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62