You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sustainable Hobby Farm: Is This The "RURBAN" Homesteading Road I Want To Take?

in #homesteading7 years ago

Here at the Splattstoesser house we have been working on the same thing. Went currently growing 4 apple trees (from seed) an apricot (from seed) thornless blackberries aka Marianberries raspberries, blueberries. We r goin to take the leap this spring and get 4 chickens. The tough part is keeping our 2 labs from chasing them around and hurrassing them.
Rurban I like it!!

Sort:  

lol- yeah we are RURBAN-ites... gotta love it!

Oh take the leap with the chickens. I really miss the rooster int he morning, miss collecting (and eating) the fresh eggs. I would go out there to feed them and I'd talk to them... sometimes they'd cackle back to me.

Thornless blackberries? Sounds like a good post! lol
I never knew they had the name Marianberries/raspberries. I learned something today!

I forgot to serarate the Marionberries and raspberries my bad. Ya these thornless blackberries get huge.
2EACED57-AEA4-411B-986D-A5BC22AD394A.jpeg
These are the smaller ones but still big. You have to wait for them to basically fall off when you slightly touch them or they are really tart.

Oh wow! Those are real cool. Are they indigenous to your area?

I’m not sure. I know my mom has some that she got from her mom. So my grandma said she got her’s in the mountain s near Ogden UT hopefully you follow me. Lol.

lol- yes I follow you already!
Interesting that your berry plants have a history of being handed down from generation to generation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69406.62
ETH 3942.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61