Going Against the Grain

in #homesteading7 years ago

Most homesteaders experience some sort of resistance to their idea of the good life from friends and family. Now that we are closer than ever before we are experiencing it to a much larger degree.

When Family Doesn't Support You

It's painful to share our joy only to be met with naysayers and negativity from some people. We will have to find our footing on this leg of our journey. How much should we share, with whom and when? We have decided to guard our hearts against some people, which is a difficult decision. We do, however, know that we are doing the right thing for our family. We are following a calling.

Going Against Society

We are already doing a lot of things that are going against the grain of society at large. We are trying to get out of a consumer mindset and into a producer mindset and it's not always easy. Most people do not get the mentality of doing things for yourself. We are not sold on the luxuries of this world, although we do enjoy the ones we have. Apparently, some people find our lifestyle choices threatening. "Think about how the world would look if too many people acted like you!" is a phrase we commonly hear. Honestly, I think the world would be much better off.

annie-theby-267666.jpg
Source

Standing Firm Together

If it wasn't for my husband I think I would have given in, given up long ago on our dreams. We've had so many negative reactions, both in the past few days and over the past almost 10 years as we've mentioned our dream in conversations. But right as I'm low and ready to give in, he picks me up, knits me back together, reminds me of my faith and choices in life and tells me that I do not have to care one bit about all the things that people tell us. As long as we are standing firm together, living our lives in the way we believe is best, installing our faith and values into our child(ren) then all is well.

What has been your experiences when sharing your dreams and opportunities?

Sort:  

I love your post, thanks for sharing! I gave you a vote. I hope you enjoy it.

I think with our family it's helped that we've just done things a little at a time and they've had the chance to see the benefits to our family. The little bits of resistance we've met have slowly become acceptance.

That's good to hear. I think the resistance we are meeting are from people who remember the downslope of farming from the 1940s-1980. We try to explain to them that what we want to do is nothing like that, but so far they just don't get it. Maybe once they start seeing the benefit to us, they will come around like you experienced.

I know exactly what you mean!!! From our first steps of "not having a TV" to others of moving into an old trailer by choice, we have been criticized and stigmatized probably more than we know. But that's okay! Those who are not awake, or in denial, can only respond with disagreement... if they agreed, then they would be in an awkward situation of knowing better but still doing the same thing. :-)

Bring your hopes, dreams, and aspirations to us, your Steemit Family! I for one will support you!

Moving into a yurt--ok! Digging an underground home by hand--awesome! Selling all your possessions and living in a van down by the river--say hi to Matt for me!

Point is... I've found those who cast judgement are usually jealous for one reason or another. Live YOUR LIFE.

Your wonderful comment literally made me cry. You epitomises the community @wholesomeroots talks about too.

It's so good to know there are people who get it, and not just that but who are pursuing a similar life.

I love this! I can completely relate! I have had some negativity from people who choose lavish lifestyles... But I have a huge farming/homesteading community that supports me even if most are from the internet and I'll never meet them...

Frugallady, if it was easy everyone would be doing it. These are words that my mother must have said a million times to me as I was growing up. The truth is that this lifestyle is a sacrifice and hard work and flies in the face of modern culture. It's ok. It's worth it all. The peace and joy that comes with it was God's design for us. What country do you live in?

We live in Denmark.
I agree on it being God's design and hard work. You mum was a wise woman. I'll take her words to heart.

That's where I get most of my support too. I'm currently trying to find some people in my country though and preferably on the island we're from. There just something so special about having someone close by and who are dealing with the same regulations etc.

I guess I have always been a prepper, homesteader and frugal at heart for as long as I can remember. Hubby has just recently come on board, one foot at time for now, but I am thrilled he is started to see things clearly.
With the recent election, the civil unrest and possibility of hard economic times perhaps around the corner, he has become more like-minded with me.

I'm glad to hear that. I'm more into homesteading than my husband, but he is fully on board and that matters the world to me.

It is hard to go aginst the normal of this world, it takes being brave. But it is always worth making your own path and feeling what its like to see your thoughts and hopes matiralize. Thank you for the post, it made me feel surrounded. Followed.

The responses I've gotten have made me feel just the same and you are right, it is absolutely worth it.

Wow, I bet it's harder over where you are. People don't seem to be that negative about it with me. Maybe you're just hanging with the wrong people! ;) I'm sorry you're not getting familial support. People should be excited that you're excited. It will get better as you learn and find your right people.

Thank you. I hope so too. With any luck, people will come around when they see us thriving. Right now all we get is comments about how hard it is, how we won't be able to do anything and will be broke all the time, not to mention the harm it could do to our child and all the things he'll miss out on. It's complete rubbish, but every now and then it gets to me.

This is absolutely epic!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by frugallady from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64170.07
ETH 3425.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59