Homestead Happiness is Fulfilling a Calling

in #homesteading7 years ago

For me homesteading is a calling and I feel the happiest whenever I'm pursuing homesteading related activities since it makes me feel right with our Father. If you aren't a person of faith, this might not resonate with you, feel free to skip it or to read on, I hope you can find some value in it anyway.

Abundant Peace

In many ways, I believe homesteading is about creating an abundant life, full of food, joy and peace. For some, it's a path they chose to walk because of convictions concerning food, independence or maybe even based on fear. To me, fear is the worst motivator for this lifestyle and I don't think you'll find a lot of happiness if you act out of fear.
For others, it's a deep, innate calling, that lures us to the land like a Sirene the sailor into the sea. I felt that calling as a child, but wasn't able to articulate it. Now I know exactly who placed that calling in my life.

felix-russel-saw-136018.jpg
(Photo by Felix Russell-Saw on Unsplash)

Abundant Challenges

You probably know how it goes, if you pray for more patience (which I have to do a lot) the Most High will bring you challenges that test your patience because it's the only way to grow. For many years I prayed for a homestead and I was unhappy with what I had. One challenge after another surfaced and the likelihood of me ever getting any acreage shrank with each one. One day, after spending time in the Word, the Lord started a new work in my heart and I slowly began to understand that like in the parable of the talents, which I had just finished reading, I couldn't just bury my talent in the sand and expect to be given a homestead, instead I had to prove I was worthy of one.

Finding Peace

I started learning new skills left and right. I took up sewing, spinning, baking, cooking in new ways, foraging and so much more. Instead of feeling stuck, I began to value the time our Father was providing me to educate myself. I would read books on topics that I still to this day never think I'll dabble in, like aquaponics, but the more I learned, the more I educated my self and ultimately the more I began doing - the more at peace I felt.

allie-dearie-20196.jpg
(Photo by Allie Dearie on Unsplash)

So What is Homestead Happiness?

To me, homestead happiness is the feeling I get when I churn my own butter, although it's from store bought cream. It's the feeling I get when I teach my son about nature. It's the feeling I get when I preserve food from our foraging adventures. In short, homestead happiness is fulfilling the calling the Most High put on my heart - doing what I can, with what I have, where I am.

What does homestead happiness mean to you?

Sort:  

I feel the same. God out living creatures and things on this Earth for us to enjoy.
There is nothing better than the feeling of accomplishment when you harvest from your garden, learn a new skill to build something or live with freedom at your doorstep.
Makes your heart full and the happiness you feel is given to others

Beautifully put.

I feel a connection most when I'm out among the woods or in a field and mostly around other peoples homesteads/property I guess you could say I sorta commune with nature :) not that I actually talk to nature though that I'm sure would be a fascinating experience :D thanks for sharing

I'm sure it would be. I love being out in nature too. I get this sense of serenity, that all is well in the world, I can always use more of that.

indeed we all could use some and others even more serenity from time to time :)

@frugallady, I appreciate how you place faith into your posts. Keep seeking God's peace in your daily life. following

Thank you. I debated whether to do it or not, I'm not here to make a ruckus, and sharing one's faith can do that at times. At the same time, I want all my posts to be honest and sincere, so this was the only option.

I think this is a really good article! Similar to you, I enjoy learning different skills and being able to implement them. For me, this lifestyle provides a simple and peaceful aspect to life that I do not know what I would do without.

I feel the same. I often wonder what 'the other' people do to find that.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by frugallady from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

This is beautiful, @frugallady! You know, what you said about the talents: looking at us human creatures, I feel this is exactly what our collective talent is supposed to be: stewardship of the earth on a familiar scale. That is what "work" is supposed to be (not turning screws in a factory, or looking at a screen in an office). That's where our creativity lies, that's where we find joy, that's what we need to bring out, so it can bring out the best in us. And THAT is what the world needs to see. So thank you for writing this amazing post.

Thank you @stortebeker, you make me blush. I completely agree with you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64155.87
ETH 3422.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59