Installing My New Solar Panels

in #homesteading7 years ago

We got some new solar panels yesterday and today I installed them. It was long and tedious and would of been much easier if I waited for Addie to get home to help. BUT I wanted to surprise her by having them all hooked up when she got home.

We used to only have 4 panels. 2 were 100watts 12vdc each and 2 were 50watts 12vdc each. Now we have 2 more at 100watts 12vdc each…

This is a picture of the original solar panels:

DSCF4324.JPG

And here is the process I went through to add the new ones:

These are the new ones 🙂

DSCF4331.JPG

First I unplugged everything then checked each individual solar panel with a voltmeter:

DSCF4333.JPG
DSCF4340.JPG
DSCF4341.JPG
DSCF4343.JPG
DSCF4345.JPG
DSCF4347.JPG
DSCF4348.JPG

Then I ensure I have enough cable connectors to connect 6 panels while maintaining a 12vdc setup. If you wire them another way you get 24vdc or more…

Here I take a 2way cable and attach a 4way to it for negative side and then repeat for positive side. this will allow me to connect a total of 8 solar panels. I am hoping to get 2 more of these next month.
DSCF4335.JPG
DSCF4336.JPG
DSCF4352.JPG

Then I connect them to the lines going into the cabin:

DSCF4339.JPG

Now I have to redo the top of the turntable so it can accept more panels. Keeping in mind I only have six right now but want to get two more later…

DSCF4350.JPG

I add some 2x4s to widen and lengthen the table but forgot to photo it 😦

But here is a shot of the brackets I mounted for attaching the solar panels:
DSCF4355.JPG
DSCF4356.JPG

And here is the first solar panel setup…

DSCF4357.JPG

Now to get the rest attached. This was the hardest part…

DSCF4360.JPG

I wish they were all the same shape and size but every time we go buy new panels the ones we got the time before are no longer around. No worries though because they still work. You just need to get creative when installing them 🙂

Here is a picture of their wiring…

DSCF4358.JPG

And we are all done now. Just need to turn the fuse box back on and wait till morning to see if they still work…

We are using 100watt 12vdc 5amp monocrystaline solar panels. They start charging about an hour before sun rise and continue to charge until about an hour after sunset. They charge off the full spectrum of light. Our eyes can only see white light. Even after the sun has begun to set and it looks dark to us, there is still UV light pouring down on us for a bit. These panels can also charge with up to a foot of fresh snow on them.

Hope you enjoyed the article 🙂

Visit FixedByDoc.com for lots more on Off Grid Living with Doc and Addie

FBD Black.png

Sort:  

You say about panel. But i want to know, which battery is used to store this solar energy. Are you electrician? Superb creativity.👈👊👊👊👊👊

Very, VERY interesting.
I'm rebuilding a small houseboat...8ft x 24 ft. At some point I intend to install (about) 6 x 20(ish) square foot of solar panels (batteries will be in a 'keel-box')..

What you are doing relates.

Keep us updated..

I suggest agm batteries. i used them and they are great. good luck with your build :)

Great! You answered a question I had that I didn't even ask..yet.
along that line...tell me more about these AGM batteries. I'm about to start on the battery box..how tall/wide/long are they? What do they cost? I expect to have a box (under the floor) about ten or twelve foot long, dunno exactly the depth and width yet.

I will post another blog right now that explains all about the batteries i use.

that'd be GREAT.

already up for you :)

i'm fast huh? lol

I suspect you cheat...Like I do.
I have dozens of posts primed and ready to go.
going there now.

actually i own fixedbydoc.com and am transferring many of my blogs/articles to here for more exposure :)

Nice write up. Following.

thank you...

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @fixedbydoc to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Nice job calling in those voters from minnowsupport big guy

Yeah boy! :)

I like how you showed everything as you went along. What a nice surprise for your wife! I bet she was happy.

she was very happy. cant wait to see the power we get tomorrow. will post an update blog on them tomorrow. im guessing we will hit dump mode with any luck. thanks glad you like the style i wrote in :) i try to make it look as easy as it is...

Nice job Doc. I've been looking into getting solar and my knowledge is preschool level. I actually understand quite a bit better & look forward to more solar posts.
What would you recommend for van dwellers? 50 watt? 100 watt?

look at everything you want to use that requires electricity. add up the wattage the devices tell you they use. then double that. when it comes to batteries quadruple the total amps you need. start with that and try it out. you may need a little more or less. that is how i did it :) i need 1000watts solar and 800ah worth of batteries.

Congratulations @fixedbydoc, this post is the most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 3291 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $763.89. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Stop this comment.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by campervanelvis from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Looks like Elvis hit this post with a bot trail and a couple of bigger bot votes from @minnowsupport

Nice Elbus!

Congrats they will make a big difference for you.

thanks. my goal is to eventually have 1000watts total. I have been living off 300watts for 4yrs now. Plus a 600watt wind turbine.

We have 400watts on our camper and we need more desperately, plus more batteries. One thing that helped us was converting all the lights to LED.

we could all use more batteries lol... i only have 400ah worth and need/want 1000ah lol...

Well done, I like what you do!

What I especially like is how well you documented everything and are ready to answer questions about what you've done and why. Really good job sir

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65248.25
ETH 3471.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51