THE RESULTS ARE IN....steemCreated with Sketch.

0729171145.jpg

Using a measuring wheel from the 60s (the same one used to measure off the original farmhouse plot), I measured the new cut ground. If you missed the original post, it's here:

https://steemit.com/homesteading/@farmandadventure/new-garden-cut-from-the-earth

I knew the plot was lopsided, as I did not premeasure. I just eyeballed it as I went around and around on the tractor. My Magpie ducks decided to sit in one corner and watch, so I had to avoid the area.

Screenshot_2017-07-29-12-42-38.png

Anyhow, I got my handy-dandy pen and notebook and began sketching out a rectangle. Hahaha! That's not going to be a rectangle...

0729171145a.jpg

So here are the measurements. It looks like by the time I finish off the corners and "square" it up a bit I'll have about half an acre.

0729171155.jpg

0729171157.jpg

Picture_20170729_135334957.jpg

0729171201.jpg

I'm very blessed/fortunate/lucky that there are absolutely no rocks in this area:

0729171152.jpg

There are a couple small trees to pull up:

0729171153a-1-1.jpg

And there's some swamp grass that will, no doubt, refuse to die:

0729171152a.jpg

But all in all, the biggest hurdle will be in getting the sand built up to soil. It's going to take some serious blood, sweat, and tears to do it by hand OR some serious cash to have it hauled in (800-1000 USD per dumptruck). But that's not going to stop me, I'm used to the work! Thank goodness for old hand tools and an even older tractor!

0729171317.jpg

Please keep this story alive with a quick resteem..thanks!
Upvote and follow if you'd like to see more homesteading, farming, and gardening!

DQmVQ3pxmvX6BtbmqJVudT6TMfQ3vemJo6UZWxxcgEdnhsc_640x480.png

DQmadpNVtB7sqN8kqhppi4EQSpBL1QQqCT5QcJ8d2aDZVpS_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Was 97* today.....

That's a good sized plot of land to work.

Good that you haven't got rocks. Have you got access to any significant amounts of animal manure?

Yes, but its about 800 usd per truckload. I need 4 truckloads. I will be collecting amendments around the farm first.

Blood, Sweat and Tears is right, You have your work cut out for you. I was never good at drawing either. Thanks for sharing. -Troy

That's awesome! I love the comment about that damn grass never dying. Isn't it so true! Hope the corner mistake didn't take up too much time but it was nice that you included it. Feels like my projects too ( :

I don't harsh myself over mistakes too much. It's fixable so it's all good. I'm sure you'll see more of that in the coming months as I go along Lol

shows you're human (:

You have my upvote to help you with the cash ;) Although you may get their faster on plain old hard work. I love your notebook, it's very pretty.
At least you don't have to deal with stones. My mum earned her pocket money as a child picking stones out of my grandfather's fields. She earned a lot, let's just leave it at that.

I'm guessing there are no stones because my father-in-law had this area cleared back in the 60s. He grew hay for a few years before his health deteriorated. Otherwise I would probably have some very big ones! The ones we find around the ponds are big like wheel-barrows! Thank you for the upvote🌻

It is hard work turning sand into something that will grow food. Or anything for that matter. May I suggest chickens? Haha!🐓🐓

@faheemahmad this copy/paste comment is considered comment spam and can be flagged and reported to @steemcleaners.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69849.38
ETH 3709.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73