NEW GARDEN CUT FROM THE EARTH!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Today, I am a kid in a candy store! I was working in my garden and kept looking at a nice, gentle-sloping and open area next to where I park the livestock trailer. Hmmmm....

Screenshot_2017-07-28-14-21-05.png

I'd been looking at this area for several months now. Dreaming of having another plot to plant those magical seeds that grow and turn into food for my family and animals. "Next year" I thought to myself back in May. It's now the end of July and I ask "Why not now?!"

So I hopped on my beat up ole tractor Fergie (1965 Massey Ferguson 135), and together we braved the building storm clouds and lightning to carve a new garden out of this wonderous Earth. It's not done yet, as you can see in the photo. I will leave it sit for a couple weeks, then till again. Leave it sit, till again. Until I have a grass and weed-free garden to add compost and amendments. This plot will be ready to go by Spring 2018.

0728171235a.jpg

Tomorrow I will measure the area to calculate how much compost I will need to have delivered. At 3" deep, and this is just a guesstimate, I'm gonna say 3-4 dumptrucks. That's 75-100 yards and that's too expensive for me right now. So I will be scraping up pond muck, leaves, and using the farm's own compost and animal manure until I am just plumb out. Then we'll see how much I have to truck in.

0728171234a.jpg

My gardens are not just cut ground, they are a living breathing part of the family! This new "child" will be trained, raised, and grown with love and pride. I can't wait to see what happens next!

Here's a short video I made this morning about it. Enjoy!

Please resteem if you like what you saw. Upvote and follow if you'd like to see more homesteading and farming content!

Follow up post with measurements here:

https://steemit.com/homesteading/@farmandadventure/the-results-are-in

DQmVQ3pxmvX6BtbmqJVudT6TMfQ3vemJo6UZWxxcgEdnhsc_640x480.png

DQmadpNVtB7sqN8kqhppi4EQSpBL1QQqCT5QcJ8d2aDZVpS_1680x8400.png

Picture_20170628_131537786.jpg

Sort:  

How awesome! I'm about to do the same thing except in my suburban backyard because I don't have acreage (yet?). Keep posting about this as it progresses! I'd love to see how it goes!

I definitely will! Im alittle giddy about what to grow there, so I will probably document the whole planning and decision-making process, along with the amendments, planting, and growing. Thanks for reading!

You are going to be able to grow a lot of crops on the new garden. It looks pretty big.

Is your land rock free? If so you are lucky. Tilling here would be tough as we have so many rocks on our Welsh mountainside.

I have only encountered rocks around the ponds. What you see there is sand like at the beach, but its grey and full of minerals. Rocks would definitely be a speedbump!

Nice, it sounds like you have it well thought out.

Well, mostly. Now to plan what to plant!

It's going to be a great piece of earth by the time you are ready to plant. 🐓🐓

Thanks! I woke up to rain today so drying it out isnt going to happen for acouple days. Time to look at seed catalogs then ;0)

beautiful plot!! good luck on next years garden!!!

Thanks! Looking forward to it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65348.61
ETH 3557.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45