Veggies from my garden - Looking for Fresh Peas

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

wo8gikroym.jpg

Today I visited my vegetable garden to see how things are there. Among other vegetables, I have several rows of peas plantes this spring, and it seems that it's time for them to ripen.

rhxan3ek16.jpg

I sow peas every year mostly for my son, because he loves it very much.
So, look what we have...

4atw567y3e.jpg

While there are still flowers on the top of the stem, it is possible to find ripe pods growing closer to the ground.

vztvwipd09.jpg

I managed to found a dozen of such pods

wo8gikroym.jpg

And of course the first pea harvest goes to Mike:)
Cоme to me, my yummies!

416qxw9nr1.jpg

fq57t2a7jq.jpg

In addition to eating it raw, Green Peas also is good for freezing and use while cooking in winter, when there are no fresh vegetables around.
And in general, as for me, pea is the most unpretentious plant in the garden, it's enough to sow it and just wait for harvest. Good plant for lazy gardeners;-)

Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules.

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote & Resteem the latest dropahead Curation Reports!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from @dropahead: Are you a curator? Join our team! v1]]

Quality review by the dropahead Curation Team

According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 84%.

Well said Gabriel García Marquez: "You learn to write by writing" Keep trying, you will soon achieve excellence!


(1) dropahead Witness' quality standards:

- Graphic relation to the text (Choice of images according to the text)
- Order and coherence
- Style and uniqueness (Personal touch, logic, complexity, what makes it interesting and easy to understand for the reader)
- Images source and their usage license

Thank you for the tips! I will try to improve my writing skills and remain original.

Классный горошек! У меня такой не вырос. Я посадил в этом году только фасоль.

Фасоль тоже неплохо, но придется дольше подождать. Моя еще только цветет.
Хорошего урожая:)

Я помню в детстве были прямо целые поля государственные засеяны подсолнухом, а внутри поля и грох был, он как раз плелся по этим подсолнухам. Мы с детьми ходили воровать этот горох. Только тссс))), никому об этом)).

I really like the taste and even the smell of fresh green peas - it reminds me of my childhood when my task was peeling it 😊
Thank you for bringing positive memories and congratulations on the harvest @erikaflynn! 💚👏👏

We are planting sugar snap peas and snow peas as I'm not a fan of having to shell peas.

Great photos.

Nick.

You made me to open the Google search to find out more about these kinds of pea:)
So, they can be eaten together with their pods... hmm, interesting... Definitely I want to try them next year. Thanks for the info.

Oh! No worries! I'll have to tag you in a post I write about our school garden's snow peas!

Take care.
Nick

They look very good! I ate some of mine a few days ago, they were yummy!

You can preserve excess pees for further use when it won't be available fresh.

I heard that fresh green pees can be canned at home, but never tried, preferring to freeze them (also a good method). Thanks for you comment.

The garden looks beautiful and the fresh peas look a real treat. We also cultivate in our village and the organically grown vegetables remain fresh for longer period of time than the ones grown using chemical fertilizers. They provide the nutrition without harming us. Thanks for the post. Hurray!

Hello, as a member of @steemdunk you have received a free courtesy boost! Steemdunk is an automated curation platform that is easy to use and built for the community. Join us at https://steemdunk.xyz

Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

Я обожаю свежий горох. В детстве, это было мое любимое лакомство.

Excellent - both your growing skills and your growing boy!

Namaste, JaiCahai

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62915.59
ETH 2542.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63