You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Response to - Challenge: What are you doing to claim food sovereignty for yourself or your community, and why?

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Greetings @wildhomesteading,

I really enjoyed this post. It was both informative and attractively presented. Your passion for this lifestyle is obvious and very much adds to the presentation. I even had a peek over at your website and it's loaded great information, too (a bit overwhelmingly so, perhaps). Clearly, you know what you're doing here and I'm glad that I was able to find your little corner here on Steemit.

I happen to be quite sympathetic to your goal of "claiming food sovereignty". I believe that if (or perhaps, when) a monetary constriction on the scale similar to what occurred in the 1920's were to take place today, the result would be utter devastation because of the direction society as a whole has shifted (away from agrarianism). I think taking back food sovereignty would go a long way to immunize us from the harshest effects of a massive economic slowdown, and so I heartily applaud your efforts!

How would you suggest someone like myself, being more of a thinker of ideas than a doer of actions, get started on growing something - anything. I don't have much space other than a few window sills, which I once used to try and nurse a small strawberry plant, but it died :(. Sometimes I think about planting random berry bushes in unused lots near where I live - guerrilla gardening, as some might say - though given my current track record, maybe not.

I look forward to your future posts as well as any suggestions you may have. Cheers!

Sort:  

Hi @ekawaediw! I am glad to see you are reaching out for help. I see you are new to steemit and I've gone ahead and delegated some Steem Power to you from our community account @homesteaderscoop, to help you have more resource credits while you are building your steem account. I would like to introduce you to some of our communities where you can get answers to your gardening questions. Are you familiar with Discord yet? It is a chat program that lets us gather around topics of interest with our steem friends.

You may be interested to join Global Homesteading Collective where there are many gardeners and homesteaders that love chatting and exchanging gardening tips with eachother. Many folks would love to answer your gardening questions! You can join here: https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

You are also most welcome to join Homesteaders Co-op where we gather around the idea of a free market for sustainability and rewarding those who create products with their hands for independence rather than relying on industrial systems for all of our needs. https://discord.gg/t2faQnD

I definitely second @wildhomesteadings suggestion of looking for local gardening groups for hands on experience and seeing what is working first hand. I learned so much by volunteering in local farms and gardens!


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

@sagescrub Thanks for all the great tips! I do have a Discord account, but am not very active with it yet. I'll check out those groups though, and I'll definitely look into volunteering opportunities, too.

Hello and thank you! I agree with your thoughts on growing your own food to protect yourself from potential shocks. In a lot of ways I view the food I grow as another source of income - but one that is much harder to lose if the economy goes through a collapse. If I can get debt free and grow most of my own food then I don't need a lot of money.

As far as growing food on a windowsill... I would recommend starting with herbs assuming you cook enough to make fresh herbs worthwhile. As long as the window gets some sun the herbs should do okay. It would be a good place to start. I did a quick google search and this site has some good information on growing herbs on a window sill.

Another option would be to see if there are any community gardens in your area that you could volunteer at. I have volunteered at some in the past and they are a great way to garden when you don't have much room.

Hope that helps!

Thanks. I'll give it a shot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 59515.78
ETH 2505.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47