My Veggie garden before and after 🐸 Transmogrification

in #homesteading6 years ago

Well, I wasn’t sure what to post for this, but this will be my entry for @riverflows competition more info can be found within her post below, check it out and get involved!
https://steemit.com/contest/@riverflows/before-and-after-contest-show-me-your-transmogrification

A few things did spring to mind on what I could have posted about

  • My journey as a teenager from a quite introvert to an outgoing lover of river, mountains and the raw power of nature
  • Building my first campervan and living like a king free to roam the open roads of the UK
  • By far my hardest journey was the one into becoming a parent, It was my decision to become a father, but one I never thought I would make. I still stand by the fact that this world is changing and not necessarily for the better and I never felt comfortable about the idea of bringing a child into this world I can see unfolding.

To be honest, they're probably a million things I could post about as in all honesty I’m quite an impulsive person, if I see something I like, believe in a principal, an idea I'm on it 100%



Instead I thought I’d share something that encompasses all of these major parts in my life, my love of nature, it’s power, beauty and mysticism. But most importantly my growing as a parent and custodian of our planet trying to do right and “grow” with the seasons.

Transmogrification of the garden!


One of the things lead to us buying our house was the garden large by standards in the UK especially for a first-time home buyer on a tight budget, but also it outlook on to rolling fields of arable crops.
It was all grass and had an old shed in the middle, I managed to strike a deal with my now wife to let me half the garden to pursue my passion of growing my own fruit and veg. Thankfully she obliged else the wedding would never have happened haha!


reclaiming the lawn


One of the very first things in this Transmogrification was a couple of raised beds put in from reclaimed wood, and I can still remember the excitement this brought.


Greenhouse base going in!

This was a massive mile stone for a few reasons, one thing I like about this is all of the materials were again free and saved from land fill, it helps when the wife dad works in the construction trade
greenhouse frame in

I’m just going to come straight out and say it, I messed up this bit the greenhouse was meant to go the other way but then wouldn’t fit on the base….. so the raised bed had to be moved, much to the wifes amusement… however down the line this was a blessing!


Year 1


The first year wasn’t the most successful in terms of crops but what I learnt and experienced was amazing, and I strapped in to start improving the soil into something that would help my hard work blossom, very much like what I’m doing with now with steem!


Year two


Year two was great and it really looked the part starting to feel like it was ment to be there, the soil was better and the crops were twice as good!


greenhouse food forest year 2


Then this happened, WOW I had an amazing, like really amazing year in the greenhouse I literally couldn’t get moved and fell in love with growing under glass!

Skip forward a couple of years

The years between I was drawn more to the greenhouse and some of the garden suffered because of this, the gravel was later removed due to issues with weeds, but it was put to good use and was used to make concrete for another much bigger shed and a concrete standing to park my car on..


Year 5 greenhouse


Around about year 3 I built an extension on to the greenhouse to effectively double the size, the issue of if not fitting in the first year and having to rotate the greenhouse was a blessing for this. Maybe next year I’d like to rebuild it all but that will depend on a lot of things yet!


Year 5 raised beds


Growing in the beds is far less systematic that the first few years, now I just embrace the chaos if I see I space I plant, this has lead to a much more appealing look to the vegie patch I feel!
Not long till it’s another food forrest!

It’s amazing to think that planting that “seed” of growing my own food and becoming more self reliant could flourish and grow in to something much bigger.

So this is my Transmogrification, Before and After. It will never stop, like the seasons it will change and hopefully for the better!


As always thanks for taking the time to stop by, don’t be afraid to leave a comment below and upvote, re-steem or follow if you think its worth it!
All the best, and Steem on!
Dan

Sort:  

How awesome! Love seeing the before and after pictures. Your garden and greenhouse just keep getting better each year. Love that face of yours. It just made me smile. Keep up the great work. It will only get better!

Thank yoy so much @thelaundrylady your comment really made me smile. One thing i love about growing in the garden is every year is a fresh start to improve on the last 😊

I sincerely enjoyed your post
Gardening is great fun
Good fortune

looks great! love the excitement on your face :) so much life you're putting into motion here <3

Hasnt he got the MOST excited face?.💚💚💚

Very nice! That is something to be proud of!

I know what you mean about the world, but it has always been an oppressive violent place and the best part of it right now is my son. Teaching a generation respect for life and for others and for self is the most radically revolutionary thing we'll ever do. Don't lose heart.

Congratulations @digitaldan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

I can understand this post so completely. I can feel the joy of growing your own food so well. You bought your house for exact the same reason as we do rent our farmhouse. Because of the space that comes with it. We also do grow our own veggies. We also fall in love with our greenhouse and have doubled the size ... the only difference is that we don't make the decision to become a parent, but instead we have four furry kids. Keep up the good work! Oh and we are on a very tight budget too ;-)

2018-05-22 16-14-50 - 0023.JPG

@hetty-rowan your greenhouse is lookimg great too. Wont be long before youll not be able to move in it 😁

That point we have reached by now. :D


Congratulations! Your post has been recommended by @llfarms to be the Global Homestead Collective's promoted post of the day. You have also received a 100% upvote and a resteem. We invite you to start using our #GHSC tag! Come join us on discord!

Thank you so much @llfarms and @ghscollective 😊 seeing this really made my day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66946.15
ETH 3488.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.22