You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cone Flower - Echinacea

in #homesteading7 years ago

First, where are you located?

There are many ways to get seed. I prefer the wild variety, it tends to have a more hardy propagation system. The flower also tends to produce more beneficial components. I would say, first they need to be stratified before you attempt to grow.

Harvesting, I have found to be best at the peak of the flowering period which is in mid-summer. I use all parts of the plant including the root. I make tea with it. I have not yet done a tincture or oil.

Remember that the YCF is not the Black-Eyed-Susan. It is a cone flower. The Black-Eyed-Susan is a relative, but not on the level of the YCF. When I am unsure of the variety of a specific plant, I first verify, through at minimum four sources, at least one in person. Though the Black-Eyed-Susan is not a toxic plant, I would consider it a waste of time if I were looking for echinacea.

I take the plant while in full bloom, hang dry it and when it is done, crush it and add to my supply. I store my dried herbs in Mason jars. Hope that helped you!

Sort:  

tremendous help! Thank you @derekfreeman
ThumbsUp.jpeg
Emoji Source

  • I'm in north central Missouri almost into Iowa (15 miles).
    • I hadn't even thought of the root with this.
      Other herbs yes, not echinacea...
      :shrug: not sure why I always assumed it was mainly the flower part...
      • We have black-eyed susans too. But, I'm 99% sure I know the YCF you mention. Grows ohhhhh 3-4 foot tall around here maybe a bit more...
        I will check with the local extension office for verification...
  • So with ready access to the YCF, you wouldn't bother with the pretty coneflowers I plan on putting in my garden?

Found this link on MO Dept. of Conservation

SMH haha their quote...

Missouri coneflowers are threatened by harvest for the medicinal herb market. Although coneflowers are easily cultivated, illegal and unethical root digging continues despite decades of studies failing to prove that echinacea supplements are medicinally effective.

I would disagree with their statement.

  • It has in fact been proven by centuries of normal folk using it...
    • Why would they continue to use it if it didn't work?

HA! Awesome that you are fairly close, I am in North central AR, just south of Branson. For medicinal use, I stick to the YCF. Though they are all great! Remember that when something works, they hide or dismiss the real information. Like I said there is no lobby for the Cone Flower, or Yarrow or Mullein. Which all grow all over the place here wild. Each of these plants has awesome super powers!

Great to find new friends here!

I work on 65 hwy so must be almost due north of you.

  • We try to make Branson once a year...
    • Caught my first Taneycomo trout last October. (barely a keeper)
      • My wife's and my immune system thank you for all the info!

65 in Harrison that's where i get my feed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62134.47
ETH 2417.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54