Metal Roof Installation - Horse Barn ProgresssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading7 years ago

Father's Day Weekend I was Bakin' Like a Toasted Cheeser! Installing that metal roof wasn't difficult, but it shhuurre was toasty! LOL

On Saturday it was about 100 degrees, but there was a decent breeze. It was tolerable. This is the day I put all the 1x4s on. This left me ready to start with the metal roof installation on Sunday. It would have been nice to get started at 6:30am when it was still nice and cool, but I like to take my family to church so it had to wait. By the time I got all the family stuff out of the way it was 1pm. NICE AND BRIGHT!

I garbed up with a long sleeve shirt, sun glasses and a broad rimmed hat. I figured I was covered, but I forgot about the sun that is reflecting off the roof. My face still got a bit red.

With time constraints (I had to go visit my dad in the evening for Father's Day) and the heat I was only able to get 9 out of 18 sheets installed. Hopefully this week in the evenings I'll be able to get the remainder on and the barn will be "dryed in".


Thank you for sharing this time with me!
UPVOTE, RESTEEM, and FOLLOW!


Follow the Daddykirbs Journey

Do you love Waffles? Try this AMAZING Recipe found here on Steemit!

Sort:  

looks real solid and good. how would you handle waterproofing to prevent leaks ? upvoted, resteem & already following cheers @daddykirbs

This should be water proof as it is. The metal is galvanized so it won't rust for a long time. The screws have a rubber washer gasket to keep water from getting in around them.

problem in south east asia .... the humidity level is so high that almost everything gets rusty . for roofing like these its always recommended to have a separate layer of some rubber materials for heat dispersion (its around 25c - 39c all year round) and also act as a backup for leakages from rains (all year round rain ).

We have some wet seasons, but we also have some very hot and dry seasons. Roofs like this can last 50 years or better here.

w0000t that you have many up, go from there and yes protection is needed! Re steemit and upvote!

I had leather gloves on too. I felt well protected, but just forgot about the reflection off the metal :)

Looking great! And stay protected ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59524.20
ETH 2999.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77