The BEST Waffles are Gluten Free and No Refined Sugars? YES! ... and you can make them.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #food7 years ago

These Waffles are AMAZING! Gluten free and no added sugar are a couple of nice benefits to this recipe.

I love Waffles. There's no way around that. When I chose to be sugar free years ago I thought things like waffles would have to be forgotten. At that time I experimented with recipes that used alternative sugars. They were ok, but never amazing.

This year, a few months ago, I decided to experiment with living Gluten Free. Well, of course no waffles right? No!

Over the years I have been working on different waffle recipes. Now, I have found that I can make them Gluten free and with no refined sugars. Let me share my secrets ;)

The Best Mostest Amazing Waffles Ever!

Waffle Ingredients

Dry Ingredients

  • Gluten Free Flour Mix (we buy a premix at Costco)
  • Baking Powder

Wet Ingredients

  • 2 cups milk (I use whole milk)
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 Tbsp Honey
  • 2 Tbsp Spiced Pear Butter (That's the secret ingredient!)
  • 1 Stick (1 stick or 1/2 cup butter is equal to 4 ounces)

Instructions

You will need 2 bowls. One for the wet ingredients and one for the dry.

In the dry bowl combine the flour and baking powder thoroughly with a wisk. Set aside.

In the wet bowl add the milk, eggs, honey, and pear butter. Mix thoroughly with a wisk. Melt the butter, then add in the wet mix last. Stir vigorously while combining the melted butter. Immediately pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients bowl. Mix with wisk while combining. Stir only to the point where there are no dry pockets in mix. It is not important or preferred to blend till smooth. Some lumps are ok and desired.

Cover mix with a towel and let sit while the waffle iron is heating up. When ready the mix should have thickened up nice and sticky.

We love our vintage waffle iron. It makes a really nice thin waffle that is the right size for re-heating in a toaster. This recipe does fine in a larger, Belgian style waffle iron as well.

Spray a small amount of cooking oil on the hot waffle iron. Add a dob of the mix to the middle of the iron and close. Do not be in a big hurry to check the waffle. If you lift the lid too early the waffle will separate and stick to the iron. The timing on the waffle depends on your iron. Test it out a few times. You can eat those bits and pieces that don't turn out perfect before you get to the table!


If my recipe or instructions are unclear or confusing, please let me know so I can fix it! I really want people to be able to make these delicious waffles!

No Sugar Needed! ... but I thought this shot in the pantry looked kinda cool ;)

These photos taken from my wife's instagram feed:
https://www.instagram.com/angie_kirby/


Follow the Daddykirbs Journey

Daddykirbs_Logo_600.png

Sort:  

Copied and saved the recipe. Love waffles and thought I would have to give them up when I was diagnosed with IBS-D. Thanks.

I make pancakes with just eggs, coconut or almond flour and coconut oil. Yum

sounds yummy :)

Thank you for this post. I know someone who has recently be diagnosed with gluten intolerance so this post came right on time.

I'm so glad you found it! Hopefully your friend tries this out. If they like waffles, they will LOVE these :)

Hehe, I hope so. The only thing that I do not have(and seems a hassle to make) is the Spiced Pear Butter. Do you think regular butter will do the trick just fine?

Pear butter isn't butter at all. It's more like a soft pear jam. It is typically spiced with cinnamon. Look for pear butter or apple butter in the jams and jellies.

Oh that looks so yummy! I am excited to try this. I am not gluten or sugar free, but always am looking for healthy alternative recipes. Now I just need to head to the store for the gluten free flour and pear butter :)

Looks delicious! I find those gluten free recipes stick a bit more on the waffle iron.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64320.49
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54