Building A Horse Barn and Fence - The Slow Progress Finally Coming Together

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Back in April of this year I started on this journey to build a horse barn. There were no drawn plans, no master builder... just me and a dream. Over the last six months I've had moments of great progress and moments where the project sat idle in the blistering heat of the Texas Summer.

Recently with some help from my Norwegian guests we made a little progress. The fence is mostly installed and the footings in the barn are in place.

My wife (affectionately called Mamakirbs) wanted a wooden fence up front. I like the looks of very heavy posts and beams so I chose the 6x6 fence posts. It took 5 posts to make this short section of fence.

For the rest of the fence stretched across the narrow property we chose to use electric tape fence. This is one and a half inch tape with wires woven in to allow for a small electric charge to run through it. This will not hurt the horses but will get their attention if they test the fence.

The final pieces of exterior boards were also finally lifted to their lofty positions while I had help on the farm as well. It's good to get that part finished. It was not easy doing some of these large boards on my own!

Below my footer section is one of the little (BIG) reasons that I want horses on the farm! My kids and grand kids will love the chance to get up close to the gentle giants. I believe this exposure is a great way to connect them to nature and God.


My 5 Most Recent Posts

*for your upvoting pleasure*

daddykirbs blogTHIS is why I was away (no videos) for 3 weeks! - NORWAY VISITS TEXAS
daddykirbs blog🔴 Daddykirbs Live - What Is A Jujube? - Special Guest)
daddykirbs blogPlanting Jujube, Peach and Tangerine - Fruit Trees in the Orchard
daddykirbs blogNorwegian Guests to the Daddykirbs Farm!
daddykirbs blog🔴 Daddykirbs Live - Front Yard Suburban Gardening


Steemit-Homesteaders-daddykirbs-small.pngSteemit-Gardeners-daddykirbs-small.pngsteemit-dads-daddykirbs-small.pngbeekeepers of steemit

If you want a badge (Homesteading, Gardening, Beekeepers, Woodworkers, Dads, Moms, Food Preservers) please submit $1SBD to @daddykirbs with a memo stating what it is for :)


Thank you for sharing this time with me!
UPVOTE, RESTEEM, and FOLLOW!


Sort:  

Hey there! I just wanted to inform you that your article has been included and linked in the most recent issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter! Please check it out if you have the time! Thank you and have a great day!

So how close is it to being done now Blake?

Just a few minor details. I bought the gate for the fence last night. I'll be installing that this evening. The fence should be 100% by tomorrow. The barn needs a floor in the feed and tack room and some doors.

Oh sooo close! Those little details are important but there always seems to be so many of them!

Shared via twitter!

Coming right along. Takes a lot of planning. I have seen horse barns I could live in. 🐓🐓

Nice post! What is the 'life' you expect to get out of the electric tape? Do you have a solar charge controller?

Congratulations @daddykirbs! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

It looks great! How many horses will you get?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67931.04
ETH 3244.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67