Puchased another 100 Lbs of Local Corn to supliment our Chicken Feed - They Love it and it's Cheap :-)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading7 years ago
  • Many of our local farmers grow corn and a 100Lb sack is only $16-$18 dollars. It can be ground down and cooked for many different uses in the kitchen or just fed whole to livestock.

I'll venture into the kitchen from time to time and eventually post some blogs on local preparation and recipes for this native corn, This sack is for chickens only :-)

IMG_20170926_082447.jpg

  • This is a great time of year for raising chickens because everything is lush and green, So a little after sunrise Johana or myself walk down to the chicken yard. Where all the chickens are waiting at the gate for us.

They follow us into the chicken coop where a big tin cup of corn gets dropped on the floor to be quickly gobbled up, another cup or 2 gets spread around a few different locations for the smaller chickens to eat in peace.

  • this is where the term Pecking Order comes from because when food or mating come into play chickens are willing to fight and the larger birds get first dibs. The smaller chickens wait their turn for whats left.

So it's important to have separate or segregated areas so everyone gets a share, But now the gate is open for the day and they roam free around the yard in their chosen groups to chase and eat bugs, grass and all sorts of greenery.

  • In the interior of Panama just about everyone has crops of some sort both large and small so you will see on sunny days tarps all over peoples yards setups like the 1 below drying naturally in the sun for long-term storage.

IMG_20170926_094150.jpg

  • This sack of corn was bought dry, but Johana thought another day in the sun to make sure would be a good idea.

Now it's time to get ready to go to Panama city, My Lawyer just called and my 3 year residency card is waiting ( Yee Ha ).
Maybe our travels will present a cool blog, I'll have my phone and laptop just in case :-)
Thanks so much for reading and supporting my blog...

_My Signature Post --->*_ Hop on My Love Train ( with music )

Life is Good @ steemit.com 💗

Sort:  

Enjoyed reading this. Say, you don't know a crypto enthusiast named Matthew down there, do you? I believe his wife is on Steemit. He was telling me Panama is a real crypto hotspot.

As someone who is interest both in blockchain and self-sufficiency/farming, this post got my attention.

Cheers! And happy chickens!

I've met a few people through steemit that are in Panama, no Matthews. There has been a couple meetups, I came close to attending 1 but things went sideways that day. If there's anything in particular you would like me to blog about let me know.

Wow good deal thanks for the informative post. Upvoted and followed.

Ah, sweet. How many chickens you have if you don't mind me asking?

We only have 14 now, should have been near 50 but a cat ate just about all of our chicks earlier this year. When the dry season comes I'll purchase 50 - 100 of the best laying chickens there are here $1 - $1.25 each. Will take 8 or more months till they start laying, but these ones are known for laying 2 or more eggs a day so we'll have plenty to sell.

It was just one cat that ate that many?! I have seen cats eat pigeons, it's a delicacy for them.

Yes just 1 cat, not very big or fat ? maybe was stashing them away somewhere.
Caught it in the coop twice.

Cats have smart ways, even though they evolution scientists undermine them.

Wow, just read it: congrats on your residency!

Things changed a bit yet again, I have a 2-year residency now and before that's done, permanent residency.
Still waiting on my work permit, 1 to 2 months more, So guess I'm surviving off steem till then LOL.

Wow, you are in love with Panama!
What's a decent wage there?
If I leave India for Panama, the immigration here will have all eyes on me. ;)

we love them too, the chickens ofcourse :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57726.29
ETH 2446.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39