A Visit from Angels

Its that time of year when we're visited by angels..

The destroying angels.

IMG_2948.JPG

It's amazing. Besides the ones that grow around here that you can eat, these are my favorite mushrooms. They have this cold beauty about them that, once you recognize what they are and learn to spot them, is entrancing. They're like ghosts; forgotten specters of an ancient age.

I wouldn't rip them out for all the tea in Britain.

IMG_2945.JPG

They're solid white (death cap has a silvery/gray top.) The stem is ringed. And most importantly, it grows from a broken egg shaped base. I don't think touching them can hurt you enough to notice, but eating them will kill you.

What's more, it's such a slow poison, you wont notice for some time.

By then its usually too late for anyone to do anything about it, except pray.

IMG_2967.JPG

All that being said, I love our mushrooms (and we have lots!) It's one of the things that make this place special. Had I the opportunity to buy a new place, I would very much like another north facing hill for mushrooms and other rare native plants.

-'The Digger'

Sort:  

It's amazing that something that beautiful can be so deadly...

It really is. Just wait till the fly amanitas pops back out ;) There also both dangerous and beautiful.

You'll post photos, right?

Ya i will, saw one today but is was a sad example..

My north facing hill has TONS of various fungus. It is quite the cornucopia each spring and fall, I just wish my identification abilities were better. I am learning slowly and carefully, but there are so many I end up just picking a sample and getting pictures. I have spore prints of a few that were unique.

Your as lucky as we are! I have always stuck to the basics, leaning thats deadly here, and learning whats edible BUT almost impossible to miss identify.. Chicken of the woods.. morel..puffball,,etc

Mushrooms are crazy. I guess thats why I like hunting them and reading cool posts like this. :)

They really are! Earlier this year we found a few yellow morels!

I just love taking photos of mushrooms. They are lovely and delicate in their own way. Thanks for posting🐓

Hey. Hope you guys are doing ok.

Not sure when you'll see this message, I know the life vs steemit and the amount of time spent on a post vs the payout can be discouraging.
I recently tried out delegating sp to @minnowbooster. https://www.minnowbooster.com/market
You basically rent out your voting power to someone else and get a % paid out to you. I found a cheap request that pays out 3 cents a day for 4 weeks. It's a way for your account to still earn an income when you're not able to be active on the blog. Have a look and see what is available.

I check back in every now and again to see if you've put anything new up.
All the best to you and your wife!
Lizelle

Congratulations @clarkfarmstead! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Quarter Finals - Day 2


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @clarkfarmstead! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93