Garden Successes 2019

From the last year I've been intensively trying to create a food forest out of my garden but it's not an easy work.

Food forest theory is one of the newest methods of growing food in a most natural & should be the easiest & most successful way. Only it is said that one needs 6 years period to set up a garden to work the way one wants & after this period things should become easy. I'm now in the 2nd year but still have some results already! 😃

Blackberry grows naturally around my garden & with its thorns protects the edge of forest just above the garden - cause my granny's house is in the last row before the forest.

The vine has given so many fruits this year! Lets just hope they'll survive till maturing & being picked by me...

On the 3 years old apple I got only 2 pieces of fruits but I'm sooo happy for it & can't wait to try them!

Horseradish is indestructible & the carrot flowers are gonna be seeding very soon!

In the same time as the apple - 3 years ago - I planted this peach. Surprisingly she gave more than 10 fruits this year & I also can't wait to pick & try them & share them with my granny!

I don't know why via Partiko this photo doesn't want to be uploaded vertically like it's been shot?! But anyway, under the peachtree, I planted these 2 pepper plants for which I don't know if their gonna be sweet or hot but I like both sweet & hot!

This I find the most interesting - a 2 years old self-grown peachtree is already giving fruits! Amazing!

A week ago or 2, I dug out the garlic - it was maybe a kilo of it but it's gonna last me for the year to come. Half of it I'm gonna plant back around Christmas. & I still have more to dig out!

That is all for now. Tomatoes & gourds are still growing & just started to flower but it's a heavy draught & I need to water them every day. It's a bit annoying but I really want them to start fruiting! I need to ad more malch around to stop the evaporation of the water from the soil... I'll write more about them in the next garden report! 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

How nice to start reaping rewards after a couple of years tending to the plants and trees, you must be happy with results now @careassaktart

Our soil is more clay, does not grow crops easily, then we have monkeys that rip into them, over the years I tend to use some pots and hope for the best with herbs mainly.

Mulching is the permanent solution for any soil & the right choice of plants to grow according to the micro-climate. There needs to be a fat, thick layer of mulch on the ground!

It's not so easy in my garden either - poor soil & heavy draught - but every year I learn something new to improve the situation with as less hard work as possible!

Good work! Don't give up! Learn on the way! 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 16.29% upvote from us for your 1723 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

I'm very keen on the food forest thing - and am desperate to get back to where I can implement this idea. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you too for stopping by! There are a lot of video about food forest thery & implementation online. I believe that Brazilian are the pioneers & maybe the inventors of the thing!

Posted using Partiko Android

Actually, there's a man named Sepp Holzer who is in Austria - there are some videos about his methods of permaculture and they definitely included at least a fledgling version of the food forest. But regardless of who was there first, it's a concept that was definitely time to come about... and can drastically reduce the amount of actual labor involved in farming. If there is to be found a "life after factory farming" - this would be the way.

Yes, permaculture is also an amazing way to live with Mother Nature & research another important Austrian - Rudolf Steiner & his biodynamic agriculture! I love to combine these 3 theories.

Well done to be getting so much bounty after just two years! I've been working part time on mine for nearer 6 years, but it's still very much a work in progress.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well I must admit it ain't easy. I still depend a lot on weather & lack of rain troubles me the most for now. I miss the thick compost layer of wooden chips on most of the surface of my garden but I'm gonna improve that too. It's the key of the success! & it's a bit of hard work too! But I'm considering it as recreation! 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

LOVELY to see your first fruits, and to enjoy with you the sense of expectation of abundance. Sweet & inspiring!

Shared to the @c-squared curation community to help grow your audience, and to @gogreenbuddy. Hope that helps. :)


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31