Time For A Change - Making HARD Decisions to Reduce Stress

in #homesteading6 years ago

Steemit.JPG

You might think that making a decision in order to reduce stress levels is a no-brainer. I mean, anything that brings down anxiety and lets you live a quieter life is good, right? But things are never quite that simple.

Working For Myself



I'm not going to moan about financial hardship but I'm going to put it out there - I'm not well off. Part of it has been my decision. For many years, over 15 in fact, I've been self-employed and work many various jobs (mostly gardening and writing) to make ends meet. It didn't stress me out because I only had myself to think of and I had no huge expenses.

When I got married, things changed though. My husband is from Canada, and so we have a tonne of visa fees to pay. We wanted to forge our future, so we bought a house. Because we moved out of the city, I had to buy a car. In the meantime and as a complete oversight by myself, my income has fallen. It means we're in a downward spiral of debt at the moment.

Healthy 2018



As part of GoldenDawne's #Healthy2018 I wrote up a post here about how I'm going to take charge of my stress this year and try to find ways to reduce it. One conclusion that I've come to is that I need to quit certain aspects of work and look into other options.

My husband has been quietly suggesting I get a part-time job for many months. However, I've taken the decision to completely quit my gardening and dog-walking duties and get a part-time job instead. I know it's the right course to take - but I'm scared. I've been my own boss for 15 years. I've shied away from getting an employer because I didn't think my mental health could take it.

But...

I've weighed up the pros and cons, and worrying constantly about what my monthly income might be is doing my MH more harm than working 15 - 20 hours for someone else would. I could cut my 3hr round-trip commute I have to take 3/4 days a week; not only saving on time, but huge petrol costs too. And even if I am paid the minimum wage, I'll earn roughly the same as I do now AND have 4 days off during which I can work on Steemit, YouTube, my fiction writing and other passions. In addition, I'm not flinging myself into full-time work but may be able to do additional hours as and when my brain allows.

The Action PLAN



So, I'm going full-scale 'search-for-a-job'. I don't want anything with responsibility. I don't want anything stressful. I literally want to go in, work hard, come home and get paid. So I'm looking at stacking shelves in supermarkets, retail and stockroom work in big superstores; that kind of thing. Ideally I'd like to work in either a garden centre (so I can actually put my skills to use) or a supermarket (so I can take advantage of staff discounts and reduce the grocery bill.)

It's A BIG CHANGE for me. And one that, six months ago, I would have never wanted to take.

But there's certainly something to be said for knowing 'I'll get paid 'X' at the end of the month' rather than 'I have no idea whether I've made enough to even cover bills this month'. <- THAT, THERE is SUPER stressful.

So, there's changes around here. The job market has changed A LOT since I last looked; there's no going into stores, giving your CV and having a chat. Now it's all faceless and online. That's a challenge in itself. But keep your fingers crossed - hopefully I'll find something soon.

Thanks for reading,

Geoff

THANKS FOR READING - PLEASE CONSIDER UPVOTING, RESTEEMING AND COMMENTING BELOW

You can find me on YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and Patreon.

Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

Sort:  

I totally understand. I'm going from being a stay-at-home mom for 22 years to going back to school for nursing. I'll start school in August which will put me graduating in June of 2019 and hopefully in the workforce and July. My goal is to possibly double our income so that we can finish remodeling our house before it's paid off in 2020 and get out to the country so that we can start homesteading on a larger scale. Once you start homesteading I don't plan to be in the workforce anymore but I figure I can use my skills to help take care of my parents and my husband's parents as they age, and address small or health issues for my family over the years. After having been at home for so long I have anxiety issues about going back to school and going into the workforce. But I think it's the best thing for my family and our future.

I wish you luck in your job search!

I get you on the anxiety issues - having been out of the mix for so long, it can be somewhat scary! I think going to a nurse is wonderful though. In fact, I did actually start doing a nursing degree but I only lasted a year and then dropped out. Not because of the nursing, but because my heart lay elsewhere.

I hope this can give some stability for the next couple of years before we, too, sell off our current house and move to the farm to homestead full-time. :D

Good luck to you too!

Good luck on ypur journey. I'll be watching for updates!

I guess you've gotta do what you've gotta do. I'm going the other way, after 18 years in teaching, but one thing I've never had to worry about for the last 2 decades is money, and there certainly is something to be said for income stability!

Good luck with the job search.

Yep. Gotta do what works, right?!

I know a lot of people going the other way. I almost hate the fact I have to conform to society for a bit but I guess if someone is willing to throw my a paycheck every month - even if it's just for a couple of years - then I'm happy.

If you're working part-time and the people are nice - then it won't be so bad!

Good luck on your journey! I can understand that that is a Huge change! There is so much freedom of will when working for oneself, but I'm guessing the more padded financial aspects will be a huge boon and take the stress off! Hope all goes well <3

Yeah, it's totally stressful having NO idea of how much money is coming in at the end of the month. And because it's winter it's even worse - normally I have a little cushion to get my through. Not this year, and that's why things are tight and I've come to this decision. Still - the homesteading dream is still there and this will be a step towards financing it :D

Good plan @brimwoodfarm! I commend you for stepping out of your comfort zone and doing what you feel needs to be done!😁

Thanks! Very hard but I've become used to the idea...in fact, even a little excited!

I wish you luck with this new life venture. Sorry you are leaving the homestead to have to earn, but... sometimes things change and you have to do things.

Hope all goes well!

Not leaving! At the moment I have an urban homestead but I have to work full time to make ends meet....but, after all these years, it's not really working out. So time to change the way I bring in cash so I can keep the homestead dream alive! :D

I know what working for yourself is all about. I got 30+ years it can be stressful

It really can be! It was okay when I only had myself to think about, but when you've got a family and household, things have to change!

Good luck for for a garden center supermarkets are not nice places. Up to you but follow what your good at and love 💯🐒

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68031.50
ETH 3788.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68