Building a Small Farm - Thinking of Nut Trees

in #homesteading7 years ago

Steemit.JPG

In my previous post Why I'm a Wannabe Farmer I talked about my dream of farming. In a nutshell; I'm to inherit 40 acres of land that's been left to go wild over three decades. The challenge? To move there and start a new, farming life. There are a few hurdles in the way that prevent any immediate move so over the coming two to three years, I'll be working the land and 'preparing', if you will, for our arrival.

So far, I've begun planting a 3.5 acre wildflower meadow, have young saplings growing at home for later transplant, have installed owl boxes, sown the beginnings of a brand new English bluebell grove, started to clear bramble thickets and undertaken a new project restoring and revitalizing a couple of old ponds.

The challenge and goal? Nurture the land back into life, both in terms of biodiversity and land fertility, so that when I'm given the green light to move and build a home, I can hit the ground running when it comes to launching the small farming business.

----------

A Thought to Trees


One HUGE step anyone can take when it comes to living off the land is a great deal of forward-planning. And when it comes to trees, they need to have been planted yesterday!

For foraging, there's a vast amount on offer already - sloes, blackberries, bullices, rosehips and crab apples are everywhere during the late summer and early autumn. However, my grandparents never had any real orchard and the few cultivated apple specimens were in the farmhouse garden which was sold. With that in mind, it's the perfect time for me to start planting trees so that when I eventually make the move, they'll already have a couple of years growth.

IMG_10507.JPG

These two oaks are well over 100 years old. What sights they must have seen.

They won't be anything like these trees, which are over a century old, but getting the nut trees in now gives me a head start.

The Nuttery


I'm not sure 'nuttery' is actually a word but it conveys the right picture, so I'm sticking with it. Though I DO intend on have fruit trees, I've already planned to cordon these against Gabian walls which will make up the driveway - hence, they have to wait for a later date. The nut trees, however....that's where I'm good to go!

Now, the UK is temperate - we have warm, wet summers and cold, wet winters. On the USDA Hardiness Scale we're Zone 8 - 9ish where I am. Alas, that instantly makes growing many nut trees, Pecans, for example, an impossibility. But, not to be outdone by my friends in warmer climates, I AM going to grow SOME nuts, including:

  • Walnuts
  • Sweet Chestnuts
  • Hazelnuts
  • Almonds
    • Though hardy, to produce nuts almonds actually need a frost free winter; a hard thing to come by in Britain, especially in rural Suffolk. Still, given the correct aspect and right protection, it's not totally out of this world to hope for a harvest.

Inspired by the Olympic Park in Stratford, I'm also going to be planting a willow dome to act not only as an entrance point to the nuttery, but a place to sit in and shell nuts after harvesting.

129.jpg

A willow walkway at the Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park. I want mine to be a dome structure instead, with excess willow used for fencing and firewood.

Act Now!



Time marches on at an astonishing speed, and I wish I'd planted these trees two years ago when I first began going up to the farmland. But if I've learned anything, it's not to rest on my laurels and as winter approaches, I'll be steadily clearing the area intended to become the nuttery of brambles and nettles. I've planted a fig already, and will pop another in (and hopefully the first nut trees) in the coming months. It's A LOT of work but I'm sure, in 20 years time when I'm sat shelling bountiful harvests, I'll sit back and thank myself for doing the hard graft.

In the meantime, are there any nut trees I might have forgotten? What have you planted on your homestead to supply yourself with fruit and nuts? Any tips or pointers you'd like to share? Please do so below!

THANKS FOR READING - PLEASE CONSIDER UPVOTING, RESTEEMING AND REPLYING BELOW

You can find me on YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and Patreon

Sort:  

I had a few hazlenuts, and three walnuts before, but this year I started ramping it up with another 30+ nut trees. Mainly almond and sweet chestnut so far, and another walnut. Also got a dozen young araucaria - but they are definitely for the long game.

I'm scared of Monkey Puzzle's ever since I got trapped in one as a kid! LOL (wasn't finding it funny at the time though). Have you had luck with any almond harvests? I'm TOTALLY new to nut trees so don't know what to expect.

I'm going to be expanding the boundary woodland onto my property with some native planting too, but wouldn't mind adding a few pines; I just find them magnificently architectural trees.

I wish you well on your endeavour. That's quite an undertaking. Upvote

Thank you! I know - I sit here happily at my computer thinking of all the things I want to do. Then I get in the car, drive to the land and think 'blimey - it's a bigger job than I thought!' LOL. But, you know, hard work wins out so I'll get there....eventually.

One of these days I know you will say to yourself 'I need a tractor'. What I wait for is for the plants to start producing. I'm still waiting. Have at it and have a good day.

I might've already grumbled that to myself after several hours into hand scything the wildflower meadow. Luckily this year our tenant farmer came in and topped everything for us with his tractor. I think it'll be a long while before I can afford such a thing of my own!

I hear that. I would like to get a bobcat but it's not in my budget.

Do not get overwhelmed...You are so smart to focus on the long term fruit and nut trees now as the time passes anyhow and those items take time...
Cheers
Melissa

The "Bounty" and "Seaside" varieties of almond are very cold tolerant (-25 F) and could work out for you.

Not sure if they're available in Europe though.

Thanks so much!! I'll look them up and see if I can get them here :D

Go for your plan. I stared my nut trees about ten years ago. Lost more than half of what I planted in the beginning. Between deer, rabbits and other creatures that like to munch on small saplings I still think its a great plan. Good luck.

Thank you for that - I hadn't considered the deer and sapling issue. Imagine if I planted, went back a month later and they were all killed?! I'll put some wire cages around them now. :D

I learned to plant flowers and plants around trees that the critters like deer and rabbits do not like. Zinnas and daffadills

I think it's a wonderful plan! I hadn't thought much about planting nut trees. We planted three Mulberries this year and I'm more excited about the wildlife they will bring than the deliciousness.

Nor me until my parents moved house and there was a huge walnut in their garden that gave a HUGE harvest. So that got me thinking. I don't think I've ever even eaten a mulberry!

Go for mulberries ...they are amazing and grow quick...better than blackberries...we have them almost all over the U.S.

This is a great idea to plant before you plan to move so they have time to get going. We live in Panama and planted a few avocados but they take 5 years to produce. I saw an almond tree here recently and need to look into that as we love almonds. I am new to gardening, so I'm sorry that my comment isn't much help but I think what you are doing is super cool and just wanted to say that. :)

Your comment IS helpful! It shows lots of others are thinking along the same lines and we can all inspire each other - which is a great thing!

Congratulations @brimwoodfarm! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Do pine nuts come from a particular type of pine? They're usually quite pricey, so maybe a good future earner?

It's funny you saying that the UK is a temperate climate. South Australia is classed as temperate too, but boy is it an extreme version!

I'm totally going to look this up - imagine being able to harvest pine nuts. From what I know, they're difficult and labour intensive to harvest hence the price - but could be an interesting addition to a smallholding.

I'd love to hear what you find out.

Nice goals, good luck. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60690.86
ETH 2905.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39