Why I'm a 'wannabe' farmer (and how I'm going to get there)

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Farming.

Just that word might make many shudder. I mean, farming is hard graft and mud, animal poo and early mornings, outdoors in all weathers and not a lot of financial gain. To me, however, 'farming' is a word that stirs inspiration and conjures feelings of comfort, joy, intrigue and a sense of well being.

It's fair to say that though I'm not born and bred farming, it's in my blood. This is my granddad's farm...

Feb 2016 387.JPG

There's 40 acres of Suffolk agricultural land there and, to me, it's beautiful whether there are blue skies and a blazing sun, fog creeping across the ground on an early morning or the heavens' have opened to a torrential downpour. You might jump to the conclusion that farming, therefore, is a way of life. It's not. I spent holidays here, chasing chickens through the fields only to run screaming back to the house as the geese turned on me like raging, squawking monsters. But I had no inclination to farm. As soon as I turned 18, I packed my bags and headed to the Big Smoke of London and university for self-discovery, all night drinking, clubbing, late nights, all nights...you can probably imagine. There was NO thought of farming on my mind.

That mindset only last a couple of years though; life in a student tower block had me craving greenery and gardens and wildlife. Sadly, by the time I realised what I truly wanted, my granddad had passed away and all the farm buildings (aside from the barn pictured above) had been sold.

Why Farming?

There are numerous reasons why my life, my loves and my aspirations have led me back in the direction of my roots.

  • Reduced Footprint
    • Humans, as a species, are very likely to be Earth's destroyer. But if I can lessen my overall carbon footprint, I can contribute a little towards reducing both my own, and my family's impact. It's not only big things like living off the land either - little or no commuting reduces fumes, food from the garden or pasture means no packaging.
  • Conservation
    • I'm animal mad and have a keen eye on conservation. I LOVE all those David Attenborough shows of creatures around the world but we have some pretty beautiful specimens back in Britain too. Protecting, preserving and conserving all these, from bugs to bats and frogs to hogs is important to me.


      100.jpg
      (just one of the pollen beetles attracted by our wildflower meadow)


  • Family
    • Family is important to me; both my heritage and continuing my grandfather's work, but making memories and providing the best life possible for my family too.
  • Community
    • One thing I picked up in London is the lack of community. Even if you try to establish one, it's often met with hard stares and unwelcome gestures. I want to live in a place where bartering food or services is normal, where there's help when needed - both offered and taken, and where your local village, suburb, community becomes the extended family.

The Journey Towards Farming

It's easy to imagine, with hindsight, that had my granddad still been alive, I'd have finished my degree, headed to the farm and flung myself into that way of life. BUT...I'm glad that didn't happen - I wouldn't be the person I am without all these past years experiences, and I wouldn't have the family I have either.

So, what now?

Now, I'm living in a mid-terraced 3 bedroom house in a very urban area. BUT - the farming has started. Even with only a 45sqm garden I keep chicken and quail. I sell eating eggs, hatching eggs and birds. I eat them all too. I also grow vegetables and sell excess to my local neighbours. It's a good learning experience as I set out in this video:

Over the next two years (yes, we're stuck logistically because of my husband's current visa restrictions), I plan to continue learning, building and experiencing life on an urban homestead whilst conducting conservation work at the farm as well as future planning - planting trees, for example.

Then, in two years time, we will apply for planning permission to build a farmhouse, sell our current home and move to start a whole new challenge!


THANKS FOR READING - PLEASE CONSIDER UPVOTING, RESTEEMING AND REPLYING BELOW

You can find me on YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and Patreon

Sort:  

First... Welcome to steemit!
Second, this was a wonderful post to read. I remember when I lived VERY rural and my youngest daughter couldn't 'wait to grow up, graduate so she could leave town..."
Well, she graduated in 2011, and lives 15 miles from where she grew up. She moved to the next town over.
Great to see you striving to carry on your family's homestead and tradition.
Good luck!

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @brimwoodfarm to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

Thank you SO much! I think many of us have dreams of leaving home and making it big - and then we get there, discover ourselves and realise that's just not who we are. Saying that - I wouldn't take away those years in London as it definitely shaped who I am.

All about family, right?! Glad your daughter didn't move too far away!

Congratulations @brimwoodfarm! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Vote
You made your First Vote
Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Where there is love there is life.

- Mahatma Gandhi

Congratulations @brimwoodfarm! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Once you get the bug, it's hard to kick it. I have it too my friend. Here's to your continued adventures in farming! Followed and looking forward to more.

Thanks, and you're right - it's certainly hard to kick. The thing is - I get rather impatient. Just trying to break it into manageable goals until I get there. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56608.36
ETH 2976.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15